Australian Parliament House is open to the public.

Former Senator Sean Edwards

Former Senator Sean Edwards

Former Senator

Liberal Party of Australia


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the Senate for South Australia 2010. Defeated at general elections 2016.
Parliamentary positions
  • Temporary Chair of Committees from 10.5.2012 to 9.5.2016.
Committee service
  • Senate Standing: Scrutiny of Bills from 1.7.2011 to 11.11.2013; Regulations and Ordinances from 13.11.2013 to 1.7.2014.
  • Senate Select: Australia's Food Processing Sector from 4.7.2011 to 16.8.2012; Electricity Prices from 10.9.2012 to 1.11.2012; Abbott Government's Commission of Audit from 11.2.2014 to 18.6.2014; Health from 26.6.2014 to 9.5.2016; Murray-Darling Basin Plan from 12.10.2015 to 9.5.2016; Scrutiny of Government Budget Measures (formerly Abbott Government's Budget Cuts) from 12.10.2015 to 9.5.2016.
  • Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing: Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport: References from 1.7.2011 to 9.5.2016; Finance and Public Administration: Legislation from 7.7.2011 to 9.2.2012; Finance and Public Administration: References from 7.7.2011 to 9.2.2012; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade: References from 12.11.2013 to 9.5.2016; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade: Legislation from 13.11.2013 to 1.7.2014; Economics: Legislation from 1.7.2014 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 7.7.2014 to 9.5.2016); Economics: References from 1.7.2014 to 9.5.2016; Environment and Communications: References from 29.2.2016 to 9.5.2016.
  • Joint Statutory: Human Rights from 16.3.2012 to 20.8.2012; Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 2.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Law Enforcement (formerly National Crime Authority from 15.6.1984 to 1.1.2003 and Australian Crime Commission from 1.1.2003 to 24.11.2010) from 2.12.2013 to 9.5.2016.
  • Joint Standing: Migration from 2.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 1.7.2014 to 9.5.2016.
Party positions
  • President of the Young Liberals Blackwood and Districts Branch from 1985 to 1988.
  • Vice-President of the Liberal Party Clare Branch from 2002 to 2004.
  • President of the Liberal Party Clare Branch from 2004 to 2008.
  • President of the Wakefield Federal Electorate Council from 2006 to 2008.
  • Member of the Liberal Party Federal Executive from 2007 to 2010.
  • Member of the Liberal Party Federal Finance Committee from 2007 to 2010.
  • President of the Liberal Party State Branch (SA) from 2007 to 2010.
  • Life Member of the Liberal Party State Council (SA) from 2010.
  • Born 2.1.1962, Clare, Australia
  • Single
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • CertRealEstate (Gawler College of Further Education).
  • Real Estate Agency.
  • Auctioneer, Land and Estate Agent from 1980 to 1996.
  • Vigneron and winemaker from 1996.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.