Open now — get your ticket to visit.

Hon Michael McCormack MP


Member for Riverina, New South Wales

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure,Transport and Regional Development
Leader of the Nationals
The Nationals
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office 1

(Principal Office)

Suite 2
11-15 Fitzmaurice Street
Wagga Wagga, NSW, 2650

Postal address

Suite 2, 11-15 Fitzmaurice Street
Wagga Wagga, NSW, 2650

(02) 6921 4600
(02) 6921 5900

Electorate Office 2

207A Clarinda Street
Parkes, NSW, 2870

Postal address

207A Clarinda Street
Parkes, NSW, 2870

(02) 6862 4560

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 7520
(02) 6273 4120


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Riverina, New South Wales, 2010. Re-elected 2013, 2016 and 2019.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance from 18.9.2013 to 21.9.2015.
  • Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister from 21.9.2015 to 18.2.2016.
  • Assistant Minister for Defence from 18.2.2016 to 19.7.2016.
  • Minister for Small Business from 19.7.2016 to 20.12.2017.
  • Minister for Veterans' Affairs from 20.12.2017 to 5.3.2018.
  • Minister for Defence Personnel from 20.12.2017 to 5.3.2018.
  • Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC from 20.12.2017 to 5.3.2018.
  • Cabinet Minister from 26.2.2018.
  • Deputy Prime Minister from 26.2.2018.
  • Minister for Infrastructure and Transport from 5.3.2018 to 28.8.2018.
  • Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development from 28.8.2018.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: House from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Regional Australia from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Deputy Leader of the House from 20.12.2017 to 5.3.2018.
  • Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Nationals from 26.2.2018.
Party positions
  • Director of the Nationals Riverina Federal Election Campaign, 2004.
  • Director of the Nationals Riverina Federal Election Campaign, 2007.
  • Vice-Chairman of the Nationals Riverina Federal Electorate Council, 2010.
  • Member of the Nationals Central Council (NSW), 2010.
  • Born 2.8.1964, Wagga Wagga, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Journalist and reporter, The Daily Advertiser, Wagga Wagga 1981-88.
  • Sub-editor, The Daily Advertiser, Wagga Wagga 1988-91.
  • Acting Editor, The Daily Advertiser, Wagga Wagga 1991-92.
  • Editor, The Daily Advertiser, Wagga Wagga 1992-2002.
  • Group Editor, Riverina Media Group 1996-2002.
  • Publisher, MSS Media Services and Solutions 2002-10.
  • Name: Riverina
  • Location: Riverina is located in the south of NSW and extends from Parkes, Cowra, Harden and Gundagai in the east to Ungarie, Ardlethan and Coolamon in the west and from Tullamore, Peak Hill and Parkes in the north to Lockhart, Tarcutta and Gundagai in the south. Towns include Ardlethan, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Cowra, Forbes, Grenfell, Gundagai, Harden, Junee, Parkes, Peak Hill, Tarcutta, Temora, Tullamore, Ungarie, Wagga Wagga, West Wyalong and Young.
  • Area: 48,988 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 113,960 (at 6.6.2019)
  • Industries: Wheat, barley, canola, rice and cereal crops. Fat lambs, wool, poultry, dairying, cattle, ostrich, emu, deer, and goat farming. Food processing, fruit, grapes and wine making. Flour-milling, concrete pipes, steel construction, saw milling, joinery, plaster works and tourism.
  • 40 not out: history of the Marian/St Michael's Cricket Club 1963-2004 .
  • Might and bite: history of the Turvey Park Australian Football Club 1952-2002 .
  • And the big boys fly: history of the Carroll Cup 1969-2008 .
  • Wild colonial boys: bushrangers in the Riverina, 1996.
  • New South Wales: linking Australia to the world, 2003.
  • The mighty Dons: history of the Marian Dons/South Wagga-Tolland Football Club, 2004.
  • From rags to riches: centenary of the Wagga Wagga Conference of the Society of St Vincent de Paul, 2004.
  • Mud, sweat and cheers: 50 years of the Wagga Kangaroos Rugby League Football Club, 2004.