Hon Jane Prentice MP


Member for Ryan, Queensland

Chair of Joint Standing Committee on the National Broadband Network
Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

636 Moggill Road
Chapel Hill, QLD, 4069

Postal address

PO Box 704
Indooroopilly, QLD, 4068

(07) 3378 1599
(07) 3378 1399

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4426
(02) 6277 8512


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Ryan, Queensland, 2010.. Re-elected 2013, 2016.
Parliamentary appointments
  • Parliamentary Representative, Advisory Council on Australian Archives from 24.2.11
  • Member, Expert Panel on the Constitutional Recognition of Local Government from 8.8.11 to 1.12.11
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 12.2.15 to 9.5.16
Ministerial appointments
  • Assistant Minister for Disability Services from 18.2.16 to 19.7.16
  • Assistant Minister for Social Services and Disability Services from 19.7.2016 to 28.8.2018
Committee service
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 25.02.2014 to 02.02.2016.
  • Joint Standing: Treaties from 09.10.2012 to 25.02.2014; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 22.09.2014 to 02.02.2016; Electoral Matters from 13.10.2015 to 23.02.2016 (Chair from 13.10.2015 to 23.02.2016); National Broadband Network from 11.09.2018 (Chair from 12.09.2018).
  • House of Representatives Standing: Infrastructure and Communications from 25.10.2010 to 13.10.2015 (Chair from 09.12.2013 to 13.10.2015); Petitions from 04.12.2013 to 09.05.2016; Petitions from 10.09.2018; Procedure from 10.09.2018; Selection from 10.09.2018.
Party positions
  • Vice-President, NSW Young Liberal Movement
  • Chairman, Mosman Young Liberal Branch
  • Chairman, Toowong Young Liberal Branch
  • Chairman, Taringa Liberal Party Branch
  • Member, Liberal Party State Women's Council Executive (Qld)
  • Hon. Secretary, Warringah Federal Electorate Council
  • Secretary, Coalition Policy Committee on Communications
  • Member, Coalition Policy Committee on Rural and Regional Affairs
  • Member, Young Liberal State Executive (NSW) 1973-77
  • Member, Liberal Party State Executive (NSW) 1976-77
  • Member, Young Liberal State Executive (Qld) 1979-80
  • Member, Liberal National Party Policy Standing Committee 2009-10
  • Born 22.06.1953, Melbourne, Australia.
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • M.A.I.C.D
  • M.A.I.M
  • Personal Assistant to State Director, Country Party (NSW)
  • Staff member to the Minister for Education, Senator the Hon. Sir JL Carrick
  • Office manager, QCOM Pty Ltd
  • Director, Brisbane Visitors and Convention Bureau
  • Business Manager, Australian Telecommunications User Group (ATUG) Queensland
  • Managing Director, Conventions Queensland
  • Member, Brisbane City Council 2000-10
  • Leader of the Opposition, Brisbane City Council 2007-08
  • Chairman, Public and Active Transport and Economic Development Committee 2010
Local government service
  • Member, Brisbane City Council from 2000 to 2010
  • Leader of the Opposition, Brisbane City Council from 2007 to 2008
  • Chairman, Public and Active Transport and Economic Development Committee, Brisbane City Council, 2010
  • Description: Outer Metropolitan
  • Location: south-western Brisbane; it includes the suburbs of Anstead, Bellbowrie, Brookfield, Chapel Hill, Chuwar, Dorrington, Enoggera, Enoggera Reservoir, Ferny Grove, Fig Tree Pocket, Gaythorne, Grovely, Indooroopilly, Ironside, Karana Downs, Kenmore, Kenmore Hills, Keperra, Kholo, Mitchelton, Moggill, Mt Coot-tha, Mt Crosby, Oxford Park, Peewee Bend, Pinjarra Hills, Priors Pocket, Pullenvale, Rainworth, Rosalie, St Johns Wood, St Lucia, Taringa, The Gap, Toowong, Torwood, Upper Brookfield, Upper Kedron and parts of Ashgrove, Auchenflower, Bardon, Paddington and Lake Manchester.
  • Area: 441 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 105037 (at 02.07.2016)
  • Industries: mainly residential and acreage suburbs with some commercial and retail activities; includes the University of Queensland, Brisbane's television transmitters on Mount Coot-tha.