Ms Laura Smyth MP

Former Member

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for La Trobe, Victoria, 2010. Defeated at general elections 2013.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Privileges and Members' Interests from 21.8.12 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Public Accounts and Audit from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13.
Party positions
  • Member, ALP Administrative Committee (Vic.).
  • Member, ALP Rules Revision Committee (Vic.).
  • Delegate, ALP National Conference.
  • Delegate, ALP State Conference (Vic.).
  • Member, ALP Economics Policy Committee (Vic.).
  • Secretary, ALP Youth Policy Committee (Vic.).
  • Born 12.11.1976, Belfast, Northern Ireland.
  • Partner.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • LLM (Melb.), BSc, LLB(Hons) (Monash).
  • Solicitor.
    Description: outer metropolitan.

    Location: eastern outskirts of Melbourne covering the Dandenong Ranges; it includes the suburbs of Beaconsfield, Belgrave, Cockatoo, Officer, Sassafras and Upwey, and parts of Berwick, Boronia, Emerald, Ferntree Gully, Gembrook, Narre Warren North, Olinda and Pakenham.

    Area: 588 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 97 960 (at 21.8.10).
    Industries: household products, car accessories and other light industries.
    State electorates: La Trobe includes parts of the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorates of Bass, Bayswater, Ferntree Gully, Gembrook, Monbulk, Narre Warren North and Narre Warren South.