Australian Parliament House is open to the public.

Senator Tim Ayres

Senator Tim Ayres

Senator for NSW

Assistant Minister for Trade
Assistant Minister for Manufacturing
Chair of Finance and Public Administration References Committee
Deputy Chair of Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee
Australian Labor Party

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Level 22, Suite 5
56 Pitt Street
Sydney, NSW, 2000

Postal address

PO Box R1470
Royal Exchange, NSW, 1225

(02) 8289 9760

Parliament Office

PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 3469


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the Senate for New South Wales, 2019.
Ministerial appointments
  • Assistant Minister for Trade from 1.6.2022.
  • Assistant Minister for Manufacturing from 1.6.2022.
Committee service
  • Senate Select: Jobs for the Future in Regional Areas from 1.8.2019 to 4.12.2019.
  • Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing: Finance and Public Administration: References from 2.7.2019 (Chair from 10.2.2020); Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade: Legislation from 2.7.2019; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade: References from 2.7.2019; Finance and Public Administration: Legislation from 5.2.2020 (Deputy Chair from 7.2.2020); Community Affairs: References from 1.9.2021 to 1.9.2021 (Substitute member from 1.9.2021 to 1.9.2021).
  • Joint Statutory: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 4.7.2019.
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 22.7.2019; Trade and Investment Growth from 22.7.2019; Treaties from 22.7.2019; Parliamentary Standards from 14.2.2022.
  • Joint Select: Australia's Family Law System from 19.9.2019 to 15.10.2019.
Party positions
  • Member of the Australian Labor Party National Executive from April 2011.
  • Born 18.12.1973, Sydney, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA (IndRel) (University of Sydney).
  • Organiser for the Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union (NSW/ACT Branch) from 1996 to 2004.
  • Assistant Secretary for the Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union (NSW/ACT Branch) from 2004 to 2010.
  • Secretary of the Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union (NSW/ACT Branch) from 2010 to 2017.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.