Australian Parliament House closed to visitors - the public main entrance will be closed indefinitely from 5pm 25 March 2020. Read more.

Mr Andrew Nikolic AM, CSC, MP


Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Bass, Tasmania, 2013. Defeated at general elections 2016.
Committee service
  • Joint Statutory: Intelligence and Security from 12.12.2013 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 25.2.2016 to 9.5.2016).
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Selection from 24.2.2015 to 12.10.2015.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Government Whip in the House of Representatives from 23.2.2015 to 20.9.2015.
  • Born 20.6.1961, Yugoslavia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • B.A (Adel)
  • B.Soc.Sc (SCU)
  • Master of Management Studies (UNSW)
  • M.A(International Relations)(Deakin)
  • M.S.S (US Army War College)
  • 1st Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment 1979-80
  • Officer Cadet School, Portsea 1980-81
  • 3rd Battalion, RAR 1981-85
  • Adjutant, Adelaide University Regiment 1986-88
  • Instructor, RMC Duntroon 1989-90
  • UN Military Observer Israel, Syria and South Lebanon 1990-91
  • Various regimental appointments 1992-2000
  • CO and Chief Instructor, Parachute Training School 2000-01
  • COS and Deputy Commander, Australian National Headquarters, Afghanistan 2001-02
  • Commandant, Army Recruit Training Centre 2004-05
  • National Command Representative, Australian Forces, Southern Iraq, and A/COS to Multinational Division (South East) 2005
  • Australian International Fellow, US Army War College, Pennsylvania 2006-07
  • Director-General Public Affairs, Defence 2007-08 (Brigadier)
  • Acting First Assistant Secretary, Department of Defence 2008-10
  • First Assistant Secretary, Department of Defence 2010-2011
Military Service
  • Australian Regular Army 1979-2010
  • Description: Provincial
  • Location: north-east Tasmania; it includes the city of Launceston and its suburbs, and the towns of Bell Bay, Bridport, George Town, Hadspen, Lilydale, Ringarooma and Scottsdale. Cape Barren Island, Clarke Island and Flinders Island are also in this division.
  • Area: 7378 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 72226 (at 7.9.2013)
  • Industries: aluminium and ferrous metal smelting, brewery, cattle (dairy and beef) farming, manufacturing, mining, ports and shipping, ship building, timber, tourism, fishing, wineries and wool.
  • Electorate: Bass is co-extensive with the Tasmanian House of Assembly electorate of the same name.
  • Commendation for Bravery (SA Commissioner of Police)
  • Member of the Order of Australia, 26.01.2010