Mr Brian Mitchell MP

Mr Brian Mitchell MP

Member for Lyons

Chair of Standing Committee on Communications and the Arts
Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office 1

(Principal Office)

Suite 105, Green Point Plaza
Bridgewater, TAS, 7030

Postal address

PO Box 61
Bridgewater, TAS, 7030

(03) 6263 3721

Electorate Office 2

53B Main Road
Perth, TAS, 7300

Postal address

53B Main Road
Perth, TAS, 7300

(03) 6398 1115
(03) 6398 1120

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4270


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Lyons, Tasmania, 2016. Re-elected 2019 and 2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Industry, Innovation, Science and Resources served from 15.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Agriculture and Water Resources served from 22.7.2019 to 24.7.2019; Agriculture and Water Resources served as Deputy Chair from 25.7.2019 to 11.4.2022; Communications and the Arts served from 28.7.2022 to 7.8.2022; Agriculture served from 28.7.2022 to present; Communications and the Arts served as Chair from 8.8.2022 to present
  • Joint Standing: National Broadband Network served from 10.10.2016 to 3.6.2018; National Broadband Network served as Deputy Chair from 4.6.2018 to 12.9.2018; National Broadband Network served from 13.9.2018 to 11.4.2022
Parliamentary party positions
  • Australian Labor Party. Served: 02.07.2016 to present
Party positions
  • Member of the Australian Labor Party Administrative Committee.
  • Secretary of the Australian Labor Party Sorell-Tasman Branch (Tas.) from 2012 to 2016.
  • Born: 1967, Coventry, England
  • Gender: Male
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA(Eng) (Curtin University of Technology).
  • Manager and kitchenhand at Hungry Jacks from 1982 to 1989.
  • Supermarket shelf stacker and bar staff, 1984.
  • Journalist for the Fremantle Herald from 1989 to 1991.
  • Publications Officer for the Council of Social Service (ACT) from 1991 to 1992.
  • Adviser to the Hon. L Price MP from 1992 to 1994.
  • Editor of the Fremantle Herald from 1994 to 2007.
  • Chief of Staff to the Hon. D Kerr SC MP from 2007 to 2008.
  • Media Consultant from 2008 to 2016.
  • Name: Lyons
  • Location: The Division of Lyons consists of the: Municipality of Break O'Day, Municipality of Brighton, Municipality of Central Highlands, Municipality of Derwent Valley, Municipality of Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Municipality of Kentish, Municipality of Meander Valley, Municipality of Northern Midlands, Municipality of Sorell, Municipality of Southern Midlands, Municipality of Tasman, part of the City of Clarence.
  • Area: 35,722 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 79,625 (at 5.6.2019)
  • Industries: Fishing, forestry, wool, cattle (dairy and beef), fruit, wine, hydro-power generation, mining and tourism.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.