Mr Julian Leeser MP

Mr Julian Leeser MP

Member for Berowra

Deputy Chair of Standing Committee on Health, Aged Care and Sport
Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Level 11, 423 Pennant Hills Road
Pennant Hills, NSW, 2120

Postal address

PO Box 743
Pennant Hills, NSW, 1715

(02) 9980 1822
(02) 9980 1833

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4826


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Berowra, New South Wales, 2016. Re-elected 2019 and 2022.
Parliamentary appointments
  • Member of the National Library of Australia Council from 10.11.2016 to 8.2.2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Employment, Education and Training served from 14.9.2016 to 28.2.2017; Tax and Revenue served from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Social Policy and Legal Affairs served as Chair from 29.11.2018 to 11.4.2019; Indigenous Affairs served as Chair from 4.7.2019 to 11.4.2022; Appropriations and Administration served from 27.11.2023 to present; Health, Aged Care and Sport served from 20.3.2024 to present
  • Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition Relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples (2018) served as Joint Chair from 27.3.2018 to 29.11.2018; Parliamentary Standards served from 11.3.2022 to 11.4.2022
  • Joint Standing: National Capital and External Territories served from 14.9.2016 to 1.7.2019; Migration served from 23.7.2019 to 23.7.2019; Migration served as Chair from 24.7.2019 to 11.4.2022
  • Joint Statutory: Human Rights served from 14.9.2016 to 1.7.2019; Intelligence and Security served from 13.2.2017 to 11.4.2022
Parliamentary party positions
  • Liberal Party of Australia. Served: 02.07.2016 to present
  • Shadow Minister for Indigenous Australians from 5.6.2022 to 11.4.2023.
  • Shadow Attorney-General from 5.6.2022 to 11.4.2023.
  • Shadow Cabinet Minister from 5.6.2022 to 11.4.2023.
Party positions
  • Member of the Liberal Party from 1992.
  • Vice-President of the Liberal Party Berowra Federal Electorate Conference (NSW) from 2009 to 2016.
  • Secretary of the Liberal Party Fox Valley Branch (NSW) from 2010 to 2016.
  • President of the Liberal Party Hornsby State Electorate Conference (NSW) from 2014 to 2016.
  • Vice-President of the Liberal Party (NSW) from 2015 to 2016.
Other positions
  • Delegate to the Constitutional Convention, 1998.
  • Member of the Official Government 'No' Case Committee, 1999.
  • Born: 25.5.1976, Sydney, Australia
  • Gender: Male
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Grad(AICD) (Australian Institute of Company Directors).
  • BA(Hons) (University of New South Wales).
  • LLB (University of New South Wales).
  • Company Director.
  • Associate to the Hon. I Callinan AC QC at the High Court of Australia, 2000.
  • Advisor to the Minister for Employment, Workplace Relations and Small Business, the Hon. A Abbott MP, 2001.
  • Solicitor at Mallesons Stephen Jacques from 2002 to 2004.
  • Special Advisor to the Attorney General, the Hon. P Ruddock from 2004 to 2006.
  • Visiting Fellow at the Alfred A. Taubman Centre for State and Local Government in the John F Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University from 2006 to 2007.
  • Executive Director at the Menzies Research Centre from 2006 to 2012.
  • Senior Executive at the Australian Catholic University from 2012 to 2016.
Local Government service
  • Member, Woollahra Municipal Council from 1995 to 1999.
  • Name: Berowra
  • Location: Berowra covers an area from Hawkesbury River in the north, to the M2, Pennant Hills Road and North Rocks Road in the South. Osborn and Normanhurst Rd and Main Northern Railway and Belmont Parade, Cockle and Cowan Creeks in the east, Hawkesbury, Bellbird and Cattai Creeks, Boundary Road, Taylor Street, High Road, Castle Hill Road, Main Northern Railway, Old Northern Road, Gilbert Road, Merrick Way, Gawin Court and Linksley Avenue in the west. Suburbs include Annangrove, Arcadia, Berowra, Brooklyn, Cattai, Cherrybrook, Cowan, Dangar Island, Galston, Glenorie, Hornsby (part), Maroota, Middle Dural, Mount Colah (part), Mount Kuring-gai, Pennant Hills, Westleigh, West Pennant Hills and Wisemans Ferry.
  • Area: 786 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 106,331 (at 11.6.2019)
  • Industries: Fishing and oyster farming from the Hawkesbury River area. Retail, service and various small industries including hobby farming, citrus fruit orchards, poultry farming, horticulture, and tourism.
  • State Policy Perspectives, (editor), Menzies Research Centre, Canberra, 2006.
  • Don't Leave Us With the Bill, (co-editor with R Haddrick), Menzies Research Centre, Canberra, 2009.
  • State of the Nation: aspects of Australian public policy, (co-editor with D Markwell and R Thompson), Connor Court Publishing, Victoria, 2013.
  • The Australian Declaration of Recognition, (with Damien Freeman), 2015.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.