Mrs Sophie Mirabella

Mrs Sophie Mirabella

Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Indi, Victoria, 2001. Re-elected 2004, 2007 and 2010. Defeated at general elections 2013.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Select: Recent Australian Bushfires served from 27.3.2003 to 5.11.2003
  • House of Representatives Standing: Legal and Constitutional Affairs served from 20.3.2002 to 17.10.2007; Employment and Workplace Relations served from 20.3.2002 to 31.8.2004; Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry served from 14.2.2007 to 17.10.2007; Legal and Constitutional Affairs served from 11.3.2008 to 3.2.2010; Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government served from 11.3.2008 to 10.11.2008; Family, Community, Housing and Youth served from 10.11.2008 to 30.11.2009
  • Joint Standing: Electoral Matters served from 5.12.2002 to 25.2.2007; National Capital and External Territories served from 1.12.2004 to 17.10.2007; Treaties served from 1.12.2004 to 14.2.2007; Electoral Matters served as Chair from 26.2.2007 to 17.10.2007; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade served from 11.3.2008 to 10.3.2009; Parliamentary Library served from 11.3.2008 to 12.5.2010; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade served from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013
  • Joint Statutory: Native Title and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Land Fund served from 20.3.2002 to 5.12.2002
Conferences, delegations and visits
  • Elected Delegate to the Australian Constitutional Convention, February 1998.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Italy, Austria, France and Switzerland, October 2009.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Liberal Party of Australia. Served: 10.11.2001 to 07.09.2013
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Local Government from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.
  • Shadow Minister for Early Childhood Education, Childcare, Women and Youth from 22.9.2008 to 8.12.2009.
  • Shadow Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research from 8.12.2009 to 14.9.2010.
  • Shadow Cabinet Minister from 8.12.2009 to 18.9.2013.
  • Shadow Minister for Innovation, Industry and Science from 14.9.2010 to 18.9.2013.
Party positions
  • President of the Liberal Club (University of Melbourne).
  • Vice-President of the Liberal Party Students' Federation.
  • Member of the Liberal Party State Council (Vic.).
  • Member of the Liberal Party Workplace Relations Task Force.
  • Member of the Liberal Party from 1987.
Other positions
  • Member of the Australians for Constitutional Monarchy Victorian Council from 1993.
  • Member of the 'No Campaign' for Referendum Committee, 1999.
  • Born: 27.10.1968, Melbourne, Australia
  • Gender: Female
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BCom (University of Melbourne).
  • LLB (University of Melbourne).
  • LLM (University of Melbourne).
  • Solicitor and articled clerk from 1995 to 1997.
  • Barrister from 1998 to 2001.
  • Name: Indi
  • Location: north-eastern Victoria; it includes the centres of Beechworth, Benalla, Bright, Corryong, Euroa, Mansfield, Mt Beauty, Myrtleford, Rutherglen, Tallangatta, Violet Town, Wangaratta, Wodonga and Yackandandah.
  • Area: 28,008 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 92,956 (at 21.8.2010)
  • Industries: tourism, forestry, woodchipping, tobacco, viticulture, agriculture, timber processing and manufacturing.
  • Includes: Indi includes the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorate of Benambra, and parts of Benalla and Murray Valley.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.