Mr Tony Windsor MP


Former Member

House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • State: Elected to the New South Wales Legislative Assembly for Tamworth, 1991. Resigned 16.10.2001 to contest the House of Representatives division of New England, New South Wales.
  • Federal: Elected to the House of Representatives for New England, New South Wales, 2001. Re-elected 2004, 2007 and 2010. Retired prior to general elections 2013.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 16.2.12 to 5.8.13
Committee service
  • Joint Select: Australia's Clean Energy Future Legislation from 15.9.2011 to 7.10.2011; Constitutional Recognition of Local Government from 26.11.2012 to 5.8.2013.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 20.3.2002 to 17.10.2007; Primary Industries and Resources from 11.3.2008 to 19.7.2010; Regional Australia from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Privileges and Members' Interests from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013.
Conferences, delegations and visits
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Republic of Korea, February-March 2010
  • Born 2.9.1950, Quirindi, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • B.Ec (UNE)
  • Farmer
  • Member, NSW Legislative Assembly 1991-2001
  • Description: Rural
  • Location: northern New South Wales highlands; it includes the centres of Armidale, Barraba, Bundarra, Deepwater, Glen Innes, Gunnedah, Guyra, Inverell, Manilla, Quirindi, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Uralla, Walcha, Werris Creek and parts of Delungra and Urbenville.
  • Area: 59344 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 99677 (at 21.8.2010)
  • Industries: cattle, sheep, grain, forestry, dairying, oats, maize, fruit, vegetables, tin-mining, bricks, trout hatchery, tourism, concrete pipe works, leather goods, tannery, gemstones, tobacco, lucerne, honey, grain processing, rubber industry, plaster works and concrete. The electorate also includes the University of New England.
  • Electorate: New England includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Lismore, Northern Tablelands, Oxley, Tamworth and Upper Hunter.