The Senate is one of the two houses of the Australian Federal Parliament. It consists of 76 senators, twelve from each of the six states and two from each of the mainland territories. It shares the power to make laws with the other House of the Parliament, the House of Representatives.

carousel photo
Senate Discovery
Discover the latest news from the Senate with our new videos
carousel photo
Work of the Senate
Keep track of Senate proceedings
carousel photo
News and events
The latest news from the Senate and its committees
carousel photo
Practice and procedure
View Senate publications, guides and other resources

Senate Composition


Image: Senate numbers in the 45th Parliament. Coalition: 27, Labor: 26, Australian greens: 9, Pauline Hanson's One Nation: 3, Nick Xenophon Team: 2, Liberal Democrats: 1, Derryn Hinch's Justice Party: 1, Australian Conservatives: 1, Independents: 2, Vacancies: 4. 

State senators were divided into two classes: short-term senators whose terms expire on 30 June 2019, and long-term senators whose terms expire on 30 June 2022. These classes were allocated according to the order of election.

Browse by states: All, ACT, NSW, NT, QLD, SA, TAS, VIC, WA


Information on the President of the Senate, current and former senators and ministers.


Find current inquiries, upcoming hearings, recent reports, committee homepages and more.

Work of the Senate

Follow the business of the Senate with the documents that guide and govern proceedings.


Estimates of government expenditure are referred to Senate committees for examination.

Practice and Procedure

Learn about the Senate, its history and all aspects of its powers, procedures and practices.

News and Events

The latest news from the Senate and its committees, and information about lectures, seminars, exhibitions and conferences.