Members of the Committee

The President of the Senate, Senator the Hon. Stephen Parry (Chairman)
The Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Sue Lines
The Leader of the Government in the Senate, Senator the Hon. George Brandis
The Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, Senator the Hon. Penny Wong
Senator Chris Back
Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins
Senator David Fawcett
Senator the Hon. Mitch Fifield
Senator Katy Gallagher

The Senate
PO Box 6100
Parliament House

Telephone:       (02) 6277 3015
Facsimile:        (02) 6277 3448

The Committee

The Standing Committee on Appropriations, Staffing and Security, appointed under standing order 19, determines the amounts for inclusion in the parliamentary appropriation bills and reports to the Senate on its determinations prior to the Senate’s consideration of those bills.

The Committee examines matters affecting the staffing and administration of the Department of the Senate, including proposals to vary the staffing structure, and other matters referred to it by the Senate. The Committee makes an annual report to the Senate on the operations of the Senate’s appropriations and staffing and related matters (standing order 19(3)).

Under standing order 19(3)(d), the Committee has the explicit capacity to scrutinise security funding and administration and to advise the President and the Senate as appropriate. Under a resolution of the Senate agreed to in 1987 the Committee also examines proposed changes in the structure and responsibilities of the parliamentary departments and, following the adoption by the Senate on 27 November 2012 of the recommendation in the Committee’s 54th Report, the Committee may advise the President and the Senate on the administration and funding of information and communications technology services for the Parliament.

The Committee is chaired by the President and includes the Deputy President and the Senate Leaders of the Government and the Opposition as ex officio members.

(James Warmenhoven)

Navigation: Contents | Next Page