House of Representatives Committees

| House of Representatives Standing Committee on Social Policy and Legal Affairs

Navigation: Contents | Next Page

Preliminary pages

Membership of the Committee

Chair Mr Graham Perrett MP
Deputy Chair The Hon. Judi Moylan MP
Members Mr Shayne Neumann MP
  Ms Michelle Rowland
  The Hon. Dr Sharman Stone MP
  Ms Laura Smyth MP
  Mr Ross Vasta MP


Committee Secretariat

Secretary Dr Anna Dacre
Inquiry Secretaries Dr John White
  Ms Vikki Darrough

Terms of reference

On 1 November 2012 the Selection Committee of the House of Representatives referred the Courts and Tribunals Legislation Amendment (Administration) Bill 2012 for inquiry and report.

List of abbreviations and acronyms

AIATSIS Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
ANAO Australian National Audit Office
CEO Chief Executive Officer
CPSU Community and Public Sector Union
FMA Act Financial Management and Accountability Act 1997
FMC Federal Magistrates Court of Australia
FTE Full Time Equivalent
MOU Memorandum of Understanding
NNTT National Native Title Tribunal
NTSCORP Native Title Service Provider for Aboriginal Traditional Owners in New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory
PBO Parliamentary Budget Office
Skehill Review Strategic Review of Small and Medium Agencies in the Attorney-General’s Portfolio

List of recommendations

Recommendation 1

The Committee recommends the House of Representatives pass the Courts and Tribunals Legislation Amendment (Administration) Bill 2012.

Recommendation 2

The Committee recommends that the Attorney-General, in accordance with section 209(2) of the Native Title Act 1993, direct the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner to include in the yearly reports on the operation of the Native Title Act 1993 consideration of the functioning of the National Native Title Tribunal, and in particular:

Navigation: Contents | Next Page

Back to top