House of Representatives Committees


Membership of the Committee
Terms of reference
List of recommendations

Chapter 1 Introduction
Chapter 2 The Listing
Minority Report
Appendix A – List of Submissions
Appendix B – Witnesses appearing at private hearing

Membership of the Committee


The Hon David Jull MP


Deputy Chair

Mr Anthony Byrne MP

(from 7 March 2006 )



Mr Stewart McArthur MP

Senator the Hon John Faulkner

(from 9 December 2005 )


The Hon Duncan Kerr SC MP

Senator Alan Ferguson


Mr Stephen Ciobo , MP

(from 8 December 2005 )

Senator the Hon Robert Ray



Senator Julian McGauran

( 8 September 2005 to 28 March 2006 )

Committee Secretariat


Ms Margaret Swieringa

Research Officer

Dr Cathryn Ollif

Executive Assistant

Mrs Donna Quintus-Bosz

Terms of reference

This inquiry and report is conducted under the following powers:

Criminal Code Act 1995

Section 102.1A Reviews by Parliamentary Joint Committee on ASIO, ASIS and DSD

Review of listing regulation

  1. If a regulation made after the commencement of this section specifies an organisation for the purposes of paragraph (b) of the definition of terrorist organisation in section 102.1, the Parliamentary Joint Committee on ASIO, ASIS and DSD may:


Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2005 (No 14)

Select Legislative Instrument 2005 No. 298

Dated 15 December 2005

List of recommendations

2 The Listing

Recommendation 1

The Committee supports the listing.

However it also recommends that the matter be kept under active consideration and requests, in that process, that the Government take into account:

Minority Report Conclusion

Recommendation 1

The Minority recommends that the Government reassess this listing.

Recommendation 2

In undertaking the reassessment the Minority requests the Government to take into account, inter alia:

Print Preliminary Page (PDF 97KB) < - Report Home  : Chapter 1 - >

Back to top