

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 23 June 2008

Chair – Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP Deputy – Ms Fran Bailey MP

Research training in Australia Public hearing in Canberra

The House of Representatives Industry, Science and Innovation Committee will conduct its second public hearing for its research training inquiry on Wednesday.

Representatives of the **Group of Eight** and the **Australian Research Council** will discuss the quality and adequacy of research training in Australia. Issues to be discussed will include the actual cost of research training and support for research career development.

The inquiry is examining the contribution that Australian universities make to Australian research training, and the challenges those universities face in recruiting, training and retaining quality research staff.

"Attracting new graduates to research, and keeping hold of our best and brightest researchers here in Australia, has become a challenge for many Australian universities", Committee Chair Maria Vamvakinou said.

"This inquiry focuses on the adequacy and effectiveness of current research training schemes, the factors that determine whether new graduates pursue a career in research, and the opportunities for career advancement for research graduates and staff".

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM Wednesday 25 June 2008 – 10.00am to 12.00pm Committee Room 1R5, Parliament House, Canberra

- 10.00am Group of Eight (submission 55) Mr Michael Gallagher, Executive Director Professor Mandy Thomas, Australian National University
- 10.45am Australian Research Council (submission 24) Professor Margaret Sheil, Chief Executive Officer Mr Len Marsden, Chief Operating Officer

The public hearing will be webcast at: <u>webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u>. Further details, including the terms of reference, membership of the Committee and advice on making submissions can be obtained on the Committee's website at: <u>www.aph.gov.au/isi</u>

For media comment: contact the Committee Chair Ms Maria Vamvakinou on 0417 541 465.

For further information: contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4594, or <u>isi.reps@aph.gov.au</u>.