Holmes, Janet (REPS)

From: Sent: To: Cc: Subject: Barry Melville [bmelville@cbaa.org.au] Tuesday, 23 January 2001 12:35 PM 'Holmes, Janet (REPS)' 'Kirsten.Livermore.MP@aph.gov.au' Answer to question on notice



Hello Janet

On 8 December 2000, at the hearing of the House Comunication Committee in Canberra, the Comittee Chairman asked Michael Thompson and I what it cost per year to run the average suburban or country community station. It was a guestion we took on notice and following is our response.

The average turnover of licensed community radio stations is \$175,000 per annum. However there is a significant range in station size with many all-volunteer operations in regional, rural and remote locations having a turnover of less than \$50,000 per annum while several metropolitan community broadcasters with city-wide coverage have more than a dozen full-time staff, a volunteer base of several hundred persons and annual turnovers in excess of a million dollars. Metropolitan and sub-metropolitan stations have an average turnover of \$281,000 while regional and remote stations survive on an average of \$102,000 per annum.

I appreciate these figures are on the income side of the equation but as cash supluses are rare, there is usually a close correspondence between gross turnover and expenditure on runing costs, i.e. stations invariably spend as much or as little as their earnings.

In addition, Ms Livermore asked us to take on notice the question of how many towns there would be where the community station is the only service available. In addition to the 70 remote Aboriginal communities served by BRACS (Broadcasting to Remote Aboriginal Community Scheme) licences there are 36 places where the community station is the only local service available. This is not to say that these areas are not covered by a broad regional ABC service or are not within the extended coverage of a neighbouring commercial station but they do not have a local ABC or commercial station.

For the record these places are:

Barham (2SCR), Batchelor (8KIN), Bellingen/Dorrigo (2BBB), Caboolture (4OUR), Ceduna (5CCR), East Gippsland/Lakes Entrance (3REG), Echuca (3GRR), Fitzroy Crossing (6FX), Fremantle, Geeveston (7RGY), Hay (2HAY), Kandos (2KKR), Kangaroo Island (5KIX), Kyneton (3RAM), La Trobe Valley (3GCR), Leongatha (3MFM), Lockhart River (4CBL), Maclean (2TLC), Mallacoota (3MGB), Mansfield (3MCR), Meekatharra (6MKA), Mornington (3RRP), Moruya (3EAR), Mountains District (3MDR), Murrayville (3MBR), Nambucca Heads (2NVR), Narwee (2NBC), Omeo (3HCR), Plenty Valley (3PVR), Portland (3RPC), Swifts Creek (3HCR), Tindall (8KTR), Whyalla 5YYY, Whyndham (6WR), Wynyard (7DBS), Yarra Valley (3VYV).

Please do not hesitate if you or the Comittee require further information or explanation.

Regards

Barry Melville CBAA Policy Adviser

1