Landing Banner


The Senate is one of the two houses of the Australian Federal Parliament. It consists of 76 senators, twelve from each of the six states and two from each of the mainland territories. It shares the power to make laws with the other House of the Parliament, the House of Representatives.

Senate Composition

Image: Senate numbers in the 45th Parliament. Coalition: 27, Labor: 26, Australian greens: 9, Pauline Hanson's One Nation: 3, Nick Xenophon Team: 2, Liberal Democrats: 1, Derryn Hinch's Justice Party: 1, Australian Conservatives: 1, Independents: 2, Vacancies: 4. 

Find out more about the Senate composition in the 45th Parliament

Search for Senators and Members

Browse by states: All, ACT, NSW, NT, QLD, SA, TAS, VIC, WA


Information on the President of the Senate, current and former senators and ministers.


Find current inquiries, upcoming hearings, recent reports, committee homepages and more.

Work of the Senate

Follow the business of the Senate with the documents that guide and govern proceedings.


Estimates of government expenditure are referred to Senate committees for examination.

Practice and Procedure

Learn about the Senate, its history and all aspects of its powers, procedures and practices.

News and Events

The latest news from the Senate and its committees, and information about lectures, seminars, exhibitions and conferences.