Filter by January, 2020

The legal machinery underlying Machinery of Government changes

On 1 February 2020 substantial Machinery of Government (MoG) changes announced by Prime Minister Scott Morrison on 5 December 2019 will take effect. The changes will reduce the number of departments from 18 to 14 with five departmental secretaries losing their positions. The announcement was followed by the release on 13 December of the final report of the Thodey review of the APS together with the Government’s response. This flagpost examines the administrative and legal structures that operate when a government makes MoG changes. ‘Departments’ and the rest The changes apply to the 18 departments that constitute the ‘Departments of State’, but the ‘public... Read more...

Edmund Barton - 100 years on

Sir Edmund Barton’s death on 7 January 1920 ended one of the most distinguished and significant careers of any Australian in public life, spanning state and federal parliamentary service, over 16 years on the inaugural High Court bench and a leading role ushering in Australia’s Federation.  Read more...

  • First
  • 1
  • Last


Flagpost is a blog on current issues of interest to members of the Australian Parliament

Logo - Parliamentary Library Department of Parliamentary Services

Filter by



Tag cloud