Parliamentary Service Commissioner Annual Report 2013-14

This report presents information covering the four parliamentary departments collectively. Further information about the individual departments can be found in their respective annual reports.

Letter of transmittal

Commissioner’s overview


Administration of the Parliamentary Service

Information and communications technology
Parliamentary Administration Advisory Group
Statutory office holder remuneration
Liaison between the Australian Public Service
Commission and the Parliamentary Service

Administrative arrangements

Commissioner’s role
Merit Protection Commissioner’s role
Roles and responsibilities of the individual departments
Parliamentary Librarian
Staffing summary
Staff turnover (ongoing employees)

Financial statements

Parliamentary Service Merit Protection Commissioner annual report

Focus on the year
Outcomes for the year
Outlook for the coming year
Governance, management and accountability

The contact for this report is:

David Bolitho
Parliament House
Phone: (02) 6277 5205

The report is available on the Internet at:

ISSN 1444-6758

ISBN 978-0-9924384-4-9

With the exception of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms and where otherwise noted, all material presented in this document is provided under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia ( licence.

The details of the relevant licence conditions are available on the Creative Commons website (accessible using the links provided) as is the full legal code for the CC BY 3.0 AU licence (

The document must be attributed as the Parliamentary Service Commissioner annual report 2013–14.


Design and typesetting: Rachael Shields