Parliamentary Service Commissioner Annual Report 2012-2013

This report presents information covering the four parliamentary departments collectively. Detailed information about the individual departments can be found in their respective annual reports.

<br />Contents

Letter of transmittal

Commissioner’s overview


Administration of the Parliamentary Service

Review of the Parliamentary Service Act
Freedom of information
Parliamentary Budget Office
New Secretary, Department of Parliamentary Services
Other allegations
Information and communications technology review
Common service arrangements
Liaison between the Australian Public Service Commission and the
Parliamentary Service

Administrative arrangements

Commissioner’s role
Merit Protection Commissioner’s role
Roles and responsibilities of the individual departments
Staffing summary
Financial summary

Appendix A

Parliamentary Service Merit Protection Commissioner’s review of 2011–12

Review of performance

Casework under the Act


<br />The contact for this report is:

David Bolitho
Parliament House
Phone: (02) 6277 5205

The report is available on the Internet at:

ISSN 1444-6758

ISBN 978-0-9873353-2-6

With the exception of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms and where otherwise noted, all material presented in this document is provided under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia ( licence.

The details of the relevant licence conditions are available on the Creative Commons website (accessible using the links provided) as is the full legal code for the CC BY 3.0 AU licence (

The document must be attributed as the Parliamentary Service Commissioner annual report 2012-13.


Design and typesetting: Rachael Shields