Dr Andrew Southcott MP

Andrew Southcott

Track (What's this?)

Member for Boothby, South Australia

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4283
(02) 6277 8476

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Level 1, 724 Marion Road
Marion, SA, 5043

Postal address
Level 1, 724 Marion Road
Marion, SA, 5043

(08) 8374 0511
(08) 8374 3071

Connect with Dr Andrew Southcott MP

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


Electorate details

Boothby electorate map

Boothby, South Australia


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Boothby, South Australia, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Environment, Recreation and the Arts from 30.5.96 to 31.8.98; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 30.5.96 to 31.8.98; Financial Institutions and Public Administration from 12.12.96 to 31.8.98; Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 8.12.98 to 31.8.04; Privileges (nominee of the Leader of the House) from 9.12.98 to 6.2.01; Ageing from 20.3.02 (Chair from 21.3.02) to 4.11.03; Health and Ageing from 3.2.10 to 19.7.10; Health from 4.12.13; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 1.12.04 to 17.10.07; Education and Training from 11.3.08 to 3.2.10; Employment and Workplace Relations from 11.3.08 to 10.2.10; Procedure from 13.10.15.
  • Joint Statutory: National Crime Authority from 14.5.98 to 31.8.98; Corporations and Securities from 8.12.98 to 11.2.02; Public Accounts and Audit from 4.12.13 (Chair from 9.12.13); Public Works from 4.12.13.
  • Joint Standing: National Capital and External Territories from 26.6.96 to 31.8.98; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 4.9.97 to 11.2.02 and from 9.2.06 to 17.10.07; Treaties from 4.11.03 (Chair from 4.11.03) to 17.10.07; Migration from 1.12.04 to 17.10.07.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.07 to 8.12.09. Shadow Minister for Employment Participation and Apprenticeships and Training from 6.12.07 to 22.9.08; Shadow Minister for Employment Participation, Training and Sport from 22.9.08 to 8.12.09.
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Health Services, Health and Wellbeing from 8.12.09 to 14.9.10; Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Primary Healthcare from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13.

Back to top

Party positions

  • President, Young Liberals Brighton-Glenelg Branch 1989.
  • President, Liberal Party Mitchell Branch 1994-95.
  • President, Boothby Federal Electorate Committee 1994.
  • Member, Liberal Party State Council (SA) 1994 and from 1996.

Back to top


  • Born 15.10.1967 at Adelaide, SA.
  • Married.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • MBBS, MBA (Adel), BEc (Flinders).
  • Medical practitioner 1991-95: Intern 1991; Resident medical officer 1992-93; Surgical registrar 1994-95.

Back to top


  • Description: outer metropolitan.
    Location: southern Adelaide; it includes the suburbs of Aberfoyle Park, Belair, Blackwood, Brighton, Daw Park, Eden Hills, Flagstaff Hill, Marion, Mitcham, Panorama, St Marys and Seacliff.
    Area: 130 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 104 032 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: major retailing, army camp and military barracks, tertiary education, several hospitals and various small industries.
    State electorates: Boothby includes the South Australian House of Assembly electorate of Waite, and parts of Ashford, Bright, Davenport, Elder, Fisher, Heysen, Mitchell and Morphett.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top