Hon Jenny Macklin MP

Jennifer Macklin

Track (What's this?)

Member for Jagajaga, Victoria

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4305
(02) 6277 8595

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

149 Burgundy Street
Heidelberg, VIC, 3084

Postal address
PO Box 316
Heidelberg, VIC, 3084

(03) 9459 1411
(03) 9457 5721

Connect with Hon Jenny Macklin MP

Contact form  
Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL



In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Jagajaga, Victoria, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Back to top

Ministerial appointments

  • Minister for Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs from 3.12.07 to 14.12.11.
  • Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs from 14.12.11 to 18.9.13.
  • Minister for Disability Reform from 14.12.11 to 18.9.13.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Family and Community Affairs from 29.5.96 to 31.8.98; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 4.12.13 to 18.3.14.
  • Joint Standing: National Disability Insurance Scheme from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Shadow Minister for the Aged, Family and Community Services from 20.3.96 to 27.3.97.
  • Shadow Minister for Social Security, the Aged and Family Services from 27.3.97 to 26.8.97.
  • Assistant to the Leader of the Opposition on the Status of Women from 26.8.97 to 20.10.98.
  • Shadow Minister for Social Security and the Aged from 26.8.97 to 20.10.98.
  • Shadow Minister for Health from 20.10.1998 to 25.11.2001.
  • Shadow Minister for Status of Women from 20.10.1998 to 5.9.2000.
  • Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party from 22.11.01 to 4.12.06.
  • Shadow Minister for Employment, Education, Training and Science from 25.11.01 to 2.7.03.
  • Shadow Minister for Status of Women from 6.12.02 to 18.2.03.
  • Shadow Minister for Employment, Education and Training from 2.7.03 to 26.10.04.
  • Shadow Minister for Education, Training, Science and Research from 26.10.04 to 10.12.06.
  • Shadow Minister for Families and Community Services from 10.12.06 to 3.12.07
  • Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs and Reconciliation from 10.12.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Shadow Minister for Families and Payments from 18.10.13 to 23.07.16.
  • Shadow Minister for Disability Reform from 18.10.13 to 23.07.16.
  • Shadow Minister for Families and Social Services from 23.07.16.

Back to top

Party positions

  • Member, ALP Manufacturing Industry Policy Committee (Vic) 1981-85.
  • Delegate, ALP State Conference (Vic) from 1995.
  • Delegate, ALP National Conference from 1998.
  • Member, ALP National Executive 1998-2001.
  • Senior Vice-President, ALP 2000-03.

Back to top


  • Born 29.12.1953 at Brisbane, Qld.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • BComm (Hons) (Melb).
  • Researcher, Australian National University 1976-78.
  • Economics Research Specialist, Legislative Research Service, Parliamentary Library, Canberra 1978-81.
  • Research Coordinator, Labor Resource Centre 1981-85.
  • Adviser to the Victorian Minister for Health, the Hon. DR White, MLC 1985-88.
  • Director, National Health Strategy 1990-93.
  • Director, Australian Urban and Regional Development Review 1993-95.

Back to top


  • Description: inner metropolitan.
    Location: north-eastern Melbourne; it includes the suburbs of Bellfield, Briar Hill, Eaglemont, Eltham, Heidelberg, Heidelberg West, Ivanhoe, Kangaroo Ground, Montmorency, Research, Rosanna, St Helena, Viewbank, Warrandyte North, Watsonia and Yallambie, and parts of Bundoora, Greensborough and Macleod.
    Area: 128 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 101 205 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: commercial and light industries, Simpson Army Barracks and Austin Hospital.
    State electorates: Jagajaga includes the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorate of Ivanhoe, and parts of Bundoora, Eildon, Eltham and Warrandyte.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top