Mr John Alexander OAM, MP

Track (What's this?)

Member for New South Wales

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4804
(02) 6277 8581

Electorate Office

Principal Office

Suite 1, 44 - 46 Oxford St
Epping, NSW, 2121

Postal address

PO Box 872
Epping, NSW, 2121

(02) 9869 4288
(02) 9869 4833

Connect with Mr John Alexander OAM, MP

Social media

Contact form

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL

Electorate details

Bennelong, New South Wales

Electorate map
Electorate profile


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Bennelong, New South Wales, 2010 and 2013.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Privileges and Members' Interests from 25.10.10 to 23.5.12; Tax and Revenue from 4.12.13 to 12.10.15 (Chair from 11.12.13 to 26.3.15); Economics from 12.2.15 to 12.10.15 and from 13.10.15 to 9.5.16; Infrastructure and Communications from 9.9.15 to 13.10.15; Infrastructure, Transport and Cities from 13.10.15 to 9.5.16 (Chair from 13.10.15 to 9.5.16).
  • Born 4.7.1951, Sydney, NSW.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Professional tennis player 1968-85.
  • Corporate event manager 1986-2000.
  • Sports commentator 1986-2010.
  • Chair, Player Development Committee, Tennis Australia 1994-2004.
  • Sports club developer 1998-2010.
  • Federation Cup Captain/Coach 2005.
    Description: inner metropolitan.

    Location: northern Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Denistone, Epping, East Ryde, Eastwood, Macquarie Park, Marsfield, Meadowbank, Melrose Park, Putney, North Ryde, Ryde, West Ryde and parts of Carlingford, Ermington and Gladesville.

    Area: 58 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 102 508 (at 7.9.13).

    Industries: light manufacturing, commercial and retail businesses.
    State electorates: Bennelong includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Ryde, and parts of Epping, Lane Cove and Parramatta.
  • Awarded Medal of the Order of Australia, January 1992.
  • Australian Sports Medal 2000.