Mr Rowan Ramsey MP

Member for Grey, South Australia

Government Whip
Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4967
(02) 6277 8440

Electorate Office 1

(Principal Office)

104 Ellen St
Port Pirie, SA, 5540

Postal address

PO Box 296
Port Pirie, SA, 5540

(08) 8633 1744
(08) 8633 1749

Electorate Office 2

45a Playford Ave
Whyalla, SA, 5600

Postal address

45a Playford Ave
Whyalla, SA, 5600

(08) 8645 4255
(08) 8645 5933

Connect with Mr Rowan Ramsey MP

Social media

Contact form

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL

Electorate details

Grey, South Australia

Electorate map
Electorate profile


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Grey, South Australia, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 9.3.10 to 9.5.16.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Industry, Science and Innovation from 11.3.08 to 19.7.10; Employment and Workplace Relations from 10.11.08 to 19.7.10; Education and Employment from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Agriculture and Industry from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16 (Chair from 9.12.14 to 9.5.16); Indigenous Affairs from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16; Communications and the Arts from 12.11.15 to 9.5.16; Agriculture and Water Resources from 14.9.16; Appropriations and Administration from 14.9.16; House from 14.9.16.
  • Joint Standing: Migration from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings from 14.9.16; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 14.9.16; Parliamentary Library from 10.10.16 (Chair from 10.10.16).
Parliamentary party positions
  • Government Whip from 30.8.2016.
Party positions
  • Delegate, Liberal Party State Council (SA) from 1998.
  • President, Liberal Party Grey Federal Electoral Council 2000-04.
  • President, Liberal Party Giles State Electoral Council from 2005.
  • President, Liberal Party Kimba Branch 1999-2004.
  • Born 4.8.1956, Kimba, SA.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Farmer.
  • Chair, Kimba District Hospital 1988-95.
  • Chair, Eyre Peninsula Hospitals Association 1992-95.
  • Chair, Eyre Peninsula Agricultural Research Foundation.
    Description: rural.
    Location: a large electorate covering most of rural South Australia apart from south-east corner; it includes the centres of Burra, Ceduna, Coober Pedy, Eudunda, Kadina, Maitland, Orroroo, Peterborough, Port Augusta, Port Lincoln, Port Pirie, Roxby Downs and Whyalla.
    Area: 904 881 sq km.
    Electors enrolled: 102 059 (at 2.7.16).
    Industries: lead smelting, steel industry, tourism, fishing, oil, gas, opals, jade, iron ore, uranium, wheat, cattle, wool, forestry, salt and slate.
    State electorates: Grey includes the South Australian House of Assembly electorates of Flinders and Giles, and parts of Frome, Goyder and Stuart.