Hon Julie Collins MP

Track (What's this?)

Member for Franklin, Tasmania

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4107
(02) 6277 2321

Electorate Office

Principal Office

18 Ross Avenue
Rosny Park, TAS, 7018

Postal address

PO Box 38
Rosny Park, TAS, 7018

(03) 6244 1222
(03) 6244 1211

Connect with Hon Julie Collins MP

Social media

Contact form

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


Electorate details

Franklin, Tasmania

Electorate map
Electorate profile


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Franklin, Tasmania, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Community Services from 14.9.10 to 14.12.11.
  • Minister for Community Services from 14.12.11 to 18.9.13.
  • Minister for Indigenous Employment and Economic Development from 14.12.11 to 18.9.13.
  • Minister for the Status of Women from 14.12.11 to 18.9.13.
  • Minister for Housing and Homelessness from 1.7.13 to 18.9.13.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Communications from 19.2.08 to 19.7.10; Education and Training from 19.2.08 to 19.7.10; Family, Community, Housing and Youth from 19.2.08 to 19.7.10; Infrastructure, Transport and Cities from 10.11.15 to 9.5.16.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Shadow Minister for Regional Development and Local Government from 18.10.13.
  • Shadow Minister for Employment Services from 18.10.13.
  • Shadow Minister for Ageing and Mental Health from 23.07.16.
Party positions
  • Member, ALP from 1988.
  • Member, ALP State Campaign Committee (Tas.) 1996-2002; Member, ALP Federal Campaign Committee 1996-2007.
  • State President, Australian Young Labor (Tas.) 1996.
  • Delegate, ALP State Conference (Tas.) 2000-07; Delegate, ALP National Conference 2004 and 2007.
  • Member, ALP Administrative Committee from 2004.
  • State Secretary, ALP (Tas.) 2006-07.
  • Born 3.7.1971, Hobart, Tas.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Business Administration Cert IV (TAFE Tasmania).
  • Administrative Officer, ALP (Tas.) 1987-90.
  • Administrative Assistant, Minister for Health's Office 1990-92.
  • Administrative Officer, Department of Health 1992-93.
  • Administrative Officer to the Leader of the Opposition (Tas.), the Hon. MW Field, MHA 1993-94.
  • Electorate Officer to Senator J Coates 1995-96.
  • Adviser to Senator SM Mackay 1996-98.
  • Business Support Officer, Hydro Tasmania 1998.
  • Personal Assistant and Adviser to the Premier of Tasmania, the Hon. JA Bacon, MHA 1998-2003.
  • Manager, Ministerial Unit, Department of Tourism, Parks, Heritage and the Arts (Tas.) 2003-05.
  • Adviser to Senator CL Brown 2005-06.
  • State Secretary, ALP (Tas.) 2006-07.
    Description: outer metropolitan.
    Location: southern Tasmania; it includes the centres of Blackmans Bay, Clarence, Cygnet, Dover, Franklin, Geeveston, Huonville, Margate, Richmond and Snug, and parts of Kingston. It also includes Bruny Island.

    Area: 6514 sq km (approx.).

    Electors enrolled: 73 593 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: apples, pears, small fruits, aquaculture, fishing, beef cattle, sheep, forestry, cottage industry, vineyards and tourism.
    State electorates: Franklin is co-extensive with the Tasmanian House of Assembly electorate of the same name.