Mr Luke Simpkins MP

Luke Simpkins

Track (What's this?)

Member for Cowan, Western Australia

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4009
(02) 6277 8423

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Shop 3, Kingsway Shopping Centre
Madeley, WA, 6065

Postal address
PO Box 219
Kingsway, WA, 6065

(08) 9409 4100
(08) 9409 5100

Connect with Mr Luke Simpkins MP

Contact form  
Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL

Electorate details

Cowan electorate map

Cowan, Western Australia


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Cowan, Western Australia, 2007, 2010 and 2013.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Petitions from 11.3.08 to 30.11.09; Family, Community, Housing and Youth from 30.11.09 to 19.7.10.
  • Joint Statutory: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Standing: Treaties from 11.3.08 to 19.7.10; National Capital and External Territories from 25.10.10 to 9.5.16 (Chair from 12.12.13 to 9.5.16); Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 4.12.13 to 22.9.14.

Back to top

Party positions

  • Member, Liberal Party Cowan Division from 2003.

Back to top


  • Born 8.6.1964, Sydney, NSW.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • BA (NSW).
  • Graduate Certificate in Security Management (Edith Cowan).
  • Federal policeman 1986-87.
  • Army officer 1988-2002 (see Military service below).
  • Security consultant 2003-04 and 2007.
  • Ministerial adviser 2005-06.

Back to top

Military Service

  • Cadet, Royal Military College 1988-89.
  • Officer, Royal Australian Corps of Military Police 1989-2002.

Back to top


  • Description: outer metropolitan.
    Location: north of Perth; it includes the suburbs of Alexander Heights, Ashby, Ballajura, Cullacabardee, Darch, Girrawheen, Gnangara, Greenwood, Hocking, Jandabup, Kingsley, Koondoola, Landsdale, Madeley, Malaga, Marangaroo, Pearsall, Sinagra, Tapping, Wangara, Wanneroo, Warwick and Woodvale, and parts of Banksia Grove and Mariginiup.
    Area: 180 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 95 477 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: retail and service industries, with some light industry, market gardens and vineyards.
    State electorates: Cowan includes the Western Australian Legislative Assembly electorate of Kingsley, and parts of Butler, Girrawheen, Mirrabooka, Wanneroo and West Swan.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top