Mr Mike Symon MP

Former Member

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4255
(02) 6277 8451

Connect with Mr Mike Symon MP

Social media

Contact form

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Deakin, Victoria, 2007 and 2010. Defeated at general elections 2013.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 7.2.12 to 5.8.13.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Employment and Workplace Relations from 11.3.08 to 19.7.10; Industry, Science and Innovation from 11.3.08 to 19.7.10; Education and Training from 17.6.09 to 19.7.10; Education and Employment from 25.10.10 to 8.5.13; Infrastructure and Communications from 25.10.10 to 8.5.13; Petitions from 25.10.10 to 8.5.13; Privileges and Members' Interests from 25.10.10 to 8.5.13; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 7.2.12 to 14.8.12.
  • Joint Standing: National Broadband Network from 22.3.11 to 8.5.13; Treaties from 6.2.13 to 8.5.13.
Conferences, delegations and visits
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Singapore, January 2010.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Cambodia, September 2011.
Party positions
  • Delegate, ALP State Conference from 1998.
  • Member, ALP Public Office Selection Committee from 2003.
  • Member, ALP Industrial Affairs Policy Committee from 2003; Secretary 2005-06.
  • President, ALP Ringwood Branch 2005; Secretary from 2006.
  • Born 21.2.1965, Box Hill, Vic.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Diploma of Occupational Health and Safety (CFMEU Training Unit, Melbourne).
  • Licensed electrician (Box Hill TAFE).
  • Union official.
  • Campaign officer.
    Description: outer metropolitan.
    Location: eastern Melbourne; it includes the suburbs of Bayswater North, Blackburn, Blackburn North, Blackburn South, Burwood East, Croydon, Croydon South, Forest Hill, Heathmont, Mitcham, Nunawading, Ringwood, Ringwood East, Ringwood North and Vermont.
    Area: 61 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 87 744 (at 21.8.10).
    Industries: light manufacturing, commercial and retail industries.
    State electorates: Deakin includes parts of the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorates of Bayswater, Forest Hill, Kilsyth, Mitcham and Warrandyte.