Hon Sharman Stone MP

Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4477
(02) 6277 8454

Connect with Hon Sharman Stone MP

Social media

Contact form

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL



Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Murray, Victoria, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013. Retired prior to general elections 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage from 21.10.98 to 26.10.04.
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance and Administration from 26.10.04 to 27.1.06.
  • Minister for Workforce Participation from 27.1.06 to 3.12.07.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Primary Industries, Resources and Rural and Regional Affairs from 29.5.96 to 31.8.98; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 4.6.97 to 31.8.98 and from 11.3.08 to 10.11.08; Indigenous Affairs from 4.12.13 (Chair from 11.2.14); Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government from 17.3.08 to 10.11.08; Education and Training from 3.2.10 to 19.7.10; Regional Australia from 16.11.10 to 25.8.11; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 4.12.13 to 22.10.15; Education and Employment from 9.9.15 to 11.11.15.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts from 29.5.96 to 1.1.98; Public Accounts and Audit from 1.1.98 to 31.8.98 and from 4.12.13 to 25.2.14.
  • Joint Standing: Migration from 10.11.08 to 3.2.10; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16 (Chair of Foreign Affairs, and Aid Sub-Committee from 12.12.13 to 9.5.16); Treaties from 25.2.14 to 11.11.15.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.07 to 14.9.10. Shadow Minister for the Environment, Heritage, the Arts and Indigenous Affairs from 6.12.07 to 22.9.08; Shadow Minister for Immigration and Citizenship from 22.9.08 to 8.12.09; Shadow Minister for Early Childhood Education and Childcare from 8.12.09 to 14.9.10; Shadow Minister for the Status of Women from 8.12.09 to 14.9.10.
Party positions
  • President, Burwood Liberal Party Women's Section and member of various policy committees.
  • Chair, Coalition Policy Committee on Agriculture.
  • Member, Victorian Rural and Regional Standing Committee.
  • Born 23.4.1951, Pyramid Hill, Vic.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA (Anthropology) (Hons), PhD (Sociology) (Monash), MA (Economics & Business) (La Trobe), GradDipTertEd (Hawthorn CAE).
  • Manager, International Development, University of Melbourne 1994-95.
  • Member, Governing Council, La Trobe University 1987-93 and 1991-93.
  • Pricing & Water Conservation Consultant, Melbourne Water 1991.
  • Director, Social Policy & Communications Victorian Farmers Federation 1990-91.
  • Director, Communications, Victoria Department of Agriculture 1989-90.
  • Manager, Consumer Policy, Rural Water Corporation of Victoria1987-89.
  • Manager, Community Engagement & Victorian Salinity Program, Victorian Ministry of Planning & Environment 1986-87.
  • Regional Assistant Manager, Victorian Office of Corrections, Southern Metropolitan Region 1985-86.
  • Curriculum Development & Prison Liaison Officer, Victorian Aboriginal Education Service 1984-84.
  • Lecturer, Institute of Early Childhood Development, University of Melbourne 1977-82.
  • Community Development Officer, Westernport Regional Council for Social Development 1976-78.
    Description: rural.
    Location: Northern Victoria; it includes the towns of Shepparton and Echuca and centres of Avenel, Boort, Bridgewater, Cobram, Euroa, Kyabram, Mooroopna, Murchison, Nagambie, Nathalia, Numurkah, Rochester, Rushworth, Tatura, Violet Town, Wedderburn and Yarrawonga.
    Area: 19 500 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 100 185 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: sheep, wheat, dairy, viticulture and fruit processing industries.
    State electorates: Murray includes the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorate of Shepparton, and parts of Bendigo East, Euroa, Murray Valley, Ovens Valley and Swan Hill.