Hon Kate Ellis MP

Katherine Ellis

Track (What's this?)

Member for Adelaide, South Australia

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4479
(02) 6277 2216

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

161 Main North Road
SA, 5083

Postal address
161 Main North Road, Nailsworth
SA, 5083

(08) 8269 2433
(08) 8269 2488

Connect with Hon Kate Ellis MP

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


Electorate details

Adelaide electorate map

Adelaide, South Australia


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Adelaide, South Australia, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013.

Back to top

Ministerial appointments

  • Minister for Youth from 3.12.07 to 9.6.09.
  • Minister for Sport from 3.12.07 to 14.9.10.
  • Minister for Early Childhood Education, Childcare and Youth from 9.6.09 to 14.9.10.
  • Minister for the Status of Women from 14.9.10 to 14.12.11.
  • Minister for Employment Participation and Childcare from 14.9.10 to 14.12.11.
  • Minister for Employment Participation from 14.12.11 to 18.9.13.
  • Minister for Early Childhood and Childcare from 14.12.11 to 1.7.13.
  • Minister for Early Childhood, Childcare and Youth from 1.7.13 to 18.9.13.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Family and Human Services from 2.12.04 to 17.10.07; Education and Employment from 4.12.13 to 27.2.14.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 14.10.13. Shadow Minister for Education and Shadow Minister for Early Childhood from 18.10.13.

Back to top

Party positions

  • Secretary, ALP Caucus Committee on Economics from 2004.
  • Member, ALP National Policy Committee from 2005.

Back to top


  • Born 22.9.1977, Melbourne, Vic.
  • Married.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • Ministerial Adviser to the Hon. R McEwen, MHA (SA) 2003-04.
  • Ministerial Adviser to the Deputy Premier (SA), the Hon. K Foley, MHA 2004.

Back to top


  • Description: inner metropolitan.
    Location: central Adelaide; it includes the city of Adelaide and the suburbs of Ashford, Clarence Park, Enfield, Goodwood, Kent Town, Keswick, Kilburn, Maylands, North Adelaide, Northgate, Norwood, Parkside, Prospect, Rose Park, St Peters, Toorak Gardens, Unley and Walkerville.
    Area: 76 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 102 976 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: markets, newspapers, military barracks, universities, brewery, bottlers, rail and bus terminals and Adelaide central business district.
    State electorates: Adelaide includes the South Australian House of Assembly electorate of Adelaide, and parts of Ashford, Bragg, Croydon, Dunstan, Enfield, Torrens, Unley and West Torrens.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top