Hon Chris Bowen MP

Chris Bowen

Track (What's this?)

Member for McMahon, New South Wales

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4822
(02) 6277 8587

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Shops 3 & 4
398 Hamilton Road
Fairfield, NSW, 2165

Postal address
PO Box W210
Fairfield, NSW, 2165

(02) 9604 0710
(02) 9609 3873

Connect with Hon Chris Bowen MP

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


Electorate details

McMahon electorate map

McMahon, New South Wales


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Prospect, New South Wales, 2004 and 2007.
  • Re-elected following the 2009 electoral redistribution for McMahon, New South Wales 2010 and 2013.

Back to top

Ministerial appointments

  • Assistant Treasurer from 3.12.07 to 9.6.09.
  • Minister for Competition Policy and Consumer Affairs from 3.12.07 to 9.6.09.
  • Minister for Financial Services, Superannuation and Corporate Law from 9.6.09 to 14.9.10.
  • Minister for Human Services from 9.6.09 to 14.9.10.
  • Minister for Immigration and Citizenship from 14.9.10 to 4.2.13.
  • Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Science and Research from 4.2.13 to 25.3.13.
  • Minister for Small Business from 4.2.13 to 25.3.13.
  • Treasurer from 27.6.13 to 18.9.13.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 2.12.04 to 7.12.05; Economics from 14.5.13 to 5.8.13; Education and Employment from 14.5.13 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 2.12.04 to 17.10.07.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Acting Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party from 13.9.13 to 13.10.13.
  • Acting Leader of the Opposition from 18.9.13 to 13.10.13.
  • Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 10.12.06 to 3.12.07 and from 14.10.13. Shadow Assistant Treasurer from 10.12.06 to 3.12.07; Shadow Minister for Revenue and Competition Policy from 10.12.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Shadow Treasurer from 18.10.13.

Back to top

Party positions

  • Member, ALP from 1988.
  • Secretary, ALP Smithfield Branch 1991-2005.
  • President, ALP Fairfield State Electorate Council 1992-2005.
  • ALP Assistant General Returning Officer (NSW) 1993-2004.

Back to top


  • Born 17.1.1973, Sydney, NSW.
  • Married.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • BEc (Syd).
  • Research and media officer to the Hon JA Crosio, MP 1994-95.
  • Industrial officer, Finance Sector Union 1995-2000.
  • Senior adviser to the Hon. PC Scully, MLA (NSW) 2000-01; Chief of Staff 2001-04.

Back to top

Local government service

  • Councillor, Fairfield City Council 1995-2004.
  • Mayor, Fairfield City Council 1998-99.
  • President, Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils 1999-2001.

Back to top


  • Description: outer metropolitan.

    Location: western Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Abbotsbury, Blacktown, Bossley Park, Canley Vale, Cecil Park, Eastern Creek, Edensor Park, Erskine Park, Fairfield, Fairfield Heights, Fairfield West, Greenfield Park, Greystanes, Horsley Park, Kemps Creek, Merrylands, Merrylands West, Mount Vernon, Orchard Hills, Pemulwuy, Prairiewood, Prospect, Smithfield, South Wentworthville, St Clair and Wetherill Park.

    Area: 161 sq km (approx.).

    Electors enrolled: 99 279 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: building and construction, light manufacturing, wholesale and retail, transport industry, agriculture and mixed farming.

    State electorates: McMahon includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Cabramatta, Fairfield, Granville, Mulgoa and Prospect.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top