Mr Stephen Jones MP

Stephen Jones

Track (What's this?)

Member for Throsby, New South Wales

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4661
(02) 6277 8548

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

2/1 Bong Bong Road
Dapto, NSW, 2530

Postal address
PO Box 864
Dapto, NSW, 2530

(02) 4262 6122
(02) 4262 6155

Connect with Mr Stephen Jones MP

Contact form  
Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL

Electorate details

Throsby electorate map

Throsby, New South Wales


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Throsby, New South Wales, 2010 and 2013.
  • Re-elected following the 2016 electoral redistribution for Whitlam, New South Wales, 2016.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Economics from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Infrastructure and Communications from 25.10.10 to 26.3.14; Tax and Revenue from 4.12.13 to 18.3.14; Health from 18.3.14 to 9.5.16.
  • Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples from 4.12.13 to 25.6.15.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and Infrastructure from 18.10.13 to 04.03.14.
  • Assistant Shadow Minister for Health from 04.03.14 to 23.07.16.
  • Shadow Minister for Regional Communications from 04.05.16.
  • Shadow Minister for Regional Services, Territories and Local Government from 23.07.16.

Back to top


  • Born 29.6.1965, Sydney, NSW.
  • Married.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • BA (Wollongong), LLB (Macq.)
  • Research officer, Australian Quadriplegic Association; disability support worker and youth worker 1985-91.
  • Various positions incl. NSW Branch Secretary and Communications Division Secretary, Community and Public Sector Union 1993-2004.
  • Lawyer, Australian Council of Trade Unions 2004-05.
  • National Secretary, Community and Public Sector Union 2005-10.

Back to top


  • Description: provincial.
    Location: south-eastern New South Wales south of Wollongong; it includes the centres of Albion Park, Berkeley, Berrima, Blackbutt, Bowral, Cringila, Dapto, Exeter, Fitzroy Falls, Horsley, Kembla Grange, Lake Illawarra, Mittagong, Moss Vale, Oak Flats, Port Kembla, Robertson, Warrawong, Welby, Willow Vale, and parts of Warilla.
    Area: 1422 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 98 401 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: steel works, mining, engineering, light and heavy manufacturing, transport, tourism, construction, transport, dairy farming and retail industries.
    State electorates: Throsby includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Goulburn, Kiama, Shellharbour, Wollondilly and Wollongong.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top