Ms Gai Brodtmann MP

Gai Brodtmann

Track (What's this?)

Member for Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4811
(02) 6277 8585

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

205 Anketell St
Tuggeranong, ACT, 2900

Postal address
205 Anketell St
Tuggeranong, ACT, 2900

(02) 6293 1344
(02) 6293 1068

Connect with Ms Gai Brodtmann MP

Contact form  
Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL

Electorate details

Canberra electorate map

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, 2010 and 2013.

Back to top

Committee service

  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 25.10.10 to 9.5.16.
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; National Capital and External Territories from 25.10.10 to 9.5.16; Parliamentary Library from 2.12.13 to 9.5.16 (Joint Chair from 11.12.13 to 9.5.16).
  • Joint Select: Gambling Reform from 14.3.12 to 24.6.13; DisabilityCare Australia from 19.6.13 to 5.8.13.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Defence from 18.10.13.

Back to top

Party positions

  • Various ACT ALP campaign, administrative and executive positions 1992-2009.
  • Chair, ALP National Policy Committee 2011.

Back to top


  • Born 24.11.1963, Melbourne, Vic.
  • Married.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • BA (ANU), BPR (RMIT), Grad Cert Bus (Monash).
  • Federal public servant and media adviser 1990-2000.
  • Small business owner 2000-10.

Back to top


  • Description: inner metropolitan.
    Location: southern Canberra and outskirts; it includes the suburbs of Deakin, Forrest, Parkes, Red Hill and Yarralumla, extending to Tuggeranong, Weston Creek and Woden Valley, and the outlying rural areas of Tharwa and Tidbinbilla. It also includes those Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol.
    Area: 1921 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 127 359 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: retail and service industries, government and administration, agriculture, light industry and tourism.
    Territory electorates: Canberra includes the Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly electorate of Brindabella and parts of Molonglo.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top