Ms Joanne Ryan MP

Joanne Ryan

Track (What's this?)

Member for Lalor, Victoria

Opposition Whip
Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4398
(02) 6277 2364

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Tenancies 3 & 4
203-205 Watton Street
Werribee, VIC, 3030

Postal address
Tenancies 3 & 4, 203-205 Watton Street
Werribee, VIC, 3030

(03) 9742 5800
(03) 9741 6213

Connect with Ms Joanne Ryan MP

Contact form  
Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Lalor, Victoria, 2013 and 2016.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: House from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16; Selection from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16; Procedure from 23.10.14 to 9.5.16; Infrastructure, Transport and Cities from 10.11.15 to 9.5.16.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Works from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Opposition Whip from 16.10.13 to 9.5.16.
  • Deputy Chair, Federal Parliamentary Labor Party Caucus from 2013.

Back to top

Party positions

  • Chair, ALP Social Policy Caucus Committee from 2013.
  • Member, ALP Education, Science, Research and the Arts Caucus Committee from 2013.

Back to top


  • Born 29.7.1961, Werribee, Vic.
  • Partner.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • BEd(Arts)(Melb.)
  • Teacher, Laverton Secondary College.
  • Assistant Principal, Galvin Park School, Werribee.
  • Acting Principal, Galvin Park School, Werribee.
  • Principal, Moonee Ponds Central School.

Back to top


  • Description: outer metropolitan.
    Location: south-western outskirts of Melbourne; it includes the centres of Cocoroc, Hoppers Crossing, Laverton, Laverton North, Little River, Mambourin, Point Cook, Quandong, Seabrook, Tarneit, Werribee, Werribee South, Williams Landing and Wyndham Vale, and parts of Altona Meadows, Eynesbury, Mt Cottrell and Truganina.
    Area: 546 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 107 392 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: heavy industries and manufacturing, market gardening, wineries, water treatment plant, horse-racing and equestrian centre, Werribee Mercy Hospital, University of Melbourne Veterinary School and Agriculture and Food Technology Precinct, tertiary education and tourism.
    State electorates: Lalor includes the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorate of Werribee, and parts of Altona and Tarneit.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top