Hon Matt Thistlethwaite MP

Track (What's this?)

Member for New South Wales

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4840
(02) 6277 4969

Electorate Office

Principal Office

Shop 6
205 Maroubra Road
Maroubra, NSW, 2035

Postal address

PO Box 895
Maroubra, NSW, 2035

(02) 9349 6007
(02) 9349 8089

Connect with Hon Matt Thistlethwaite MP

Social media

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


Electorate details

Kingsford Smith, New South Wales

Electorate map
Electorate profile


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the Senate for New South Wales 2010 (term began 1.7.2011). Resigned 9.8.2013.
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Kingsford Smith, New South Wales, 2013 and 2016.
Committee service
  • Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing: Education, Employment and Workplace Relations: Legislation Committee from 1.7.11 to 14.5.13.
  • Senate Select: Scrutiny of New Taxes from 1.7.11 to 1.11.11; Electricity Prices from 23.8.12 to 1.11.12.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Infrastructure and Communications from 4.12.13 to 13.10.15; Infrastructure, Transport and Cities from 19.10.15.
  • Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 1.7.11 to 14.5.13; Public Accounts and Audit from 1.7.11 to 14.5.13; Human Rights from 13.3.12 to 14.5.13.
  • Joint Standing: Treaties from 1.7.11 to 14.5.13; Gambling Reform from 27.6.12 to 14.5.13; Migration from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16.
  • Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples from 29.11.12 to 14.5.13; Broadcasting Legislation from 14.3.13 to 14.5.13.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs from 18.10.13 to 23.07.16.
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Immigration from 18.10.13 to 23.07.16.
  • Shadow Assistant Minister for Treasury from 23.07.16.
Party positions
  • President, NSW Young Labor 1997-98.
  • Chair, ALP Law Reform Committee 2001-08.
  • Chair, ALP Review Tribunal 2004-08.
  • Secretary, Kingsford Smith Federal Electorate Council 2005-08.
  • General Secretary, ALP (NSW) 2008-10.
  • Born 6.9.1972, Sydney, NSW.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BEc (UNSW), DipLaw, DipLegalPrac (UTS).
  • Industrial officer, Australian Workers' Union 1995-2004.
  • Deputy Secretary, Unions NSW 2004-08.
  • Solicitor, Mallesons Stephen Jaques from 2010.
    Description: inner metropolitan.

    Location: southern Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Banksmeadow, Botany, Chifley, Coogee, Daceyville, Eastgardens, Eastlakes, Hillsdale, Kensington, Kingsford, La Perouse, Little Bay, Malabar, Maroubra, Maroubra Junction, Mascot, Matraville, Pagewood, Phillip Bay, Port Botany and South Coogee, and parts of Clovelly, Randwick and Rosebery.

    Area: 127 sq km (approx.).

    Electors enrolled: 102 418 (at 7.9.13).

    Industries: shipping, paper manufacturing, light manufacturing, commercial and retail businesses.

    State electorates: Kingsford Smith includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Maroubra, and parts of Coogee and Heffron.