Hon Sussan Ley MP

Member for Farrer, New South Wales

Minister for Health and Aged Care
Minister for Sport
Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 7220
(02) 6273 4146

Electorate Office



Principal Office

517 Kiewa Street
Albury, NSW, 2640

Postal address

PO Box 672
Albury, NSW, 2640

(02) 6021 3264
(02) 6021 6620

Connect with Hon Sussan Ley MP

Social media

Personal website
Party website
Ministerial home page

Alternative URL


Electorate details

Farrer, New South Wales

Electorate map
Electorate profile


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Farrer, New South Wales, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Family and Community Services (Children and Youth Affairs) from 26.10.04 to 27.1.06.
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 27.1.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Assistant Minister for Education from 18.9.13 to 23.12.14.
  • Minister for Health from 23.12.14 to 19.7.16.
  • Minister for Aged Care from 30.9.15 to 19.7.16.
  • Minister for Sport from 23.12.14.
  • Minister for Health and Aged Care from 19.7.16.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 20.3.02 to 31.8.04; Transport and Regional Services from 20.3.02 to 31.8.04; Family, Community, Housing and Youth from 11.3.08 to 10.11.08; Economics from 10.2.10 to 19.7.10.
  • Joint Statutory: Native Title and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Land Fund from 5.12.02 to 31.8.04; Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 25.9.08 to 3.2.10; Australian Crime Commission from 25.9.08 to 3.2.10; Public Accounts and Audit from 3.2.10 to 19.7.10.
  • Joint Standing: Electoral Matters from 20.3.02 to 5.12.02; National Broadband Network from 22.3.11 to 5.8.13.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.07 to 18.9.13. Shadow Minister for Housing from 6.12.07 to 22.9.08; Shadow Minister for the Status of Women from 6.12.07 to 22.9.08; Shadow Minister for Justice and Customs from 22.9.08 to 8.12.09; Shadow Assistant Treasurer from 8.12.09 to 14.9.10; Shadow Minister for Employment Participation from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13; Shadow Minister for Childcare and Early Childhood from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13.
Party positions
  • Member, Liberal Party Tallangatta Branch 1994-2001.
  • Member, Liberal Party (NSW) from 2001.
  • Born 14.12.1961, Kano, Nigeria.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BEc (La Trobe), MTax (UNSW), MAcc (Charles Sturt).
  • Air traffic controller 1983-85.
  • Commercial pilot 1985-86.
  • Shearers' cook 1986-88.
  • Wool and beef farmer 1988-2001.
  • Director of Technical Training, Australian Taxation Office 1995-2001.
    Description: rural.
    Location: far west and southern central New South Wales; it includes the cities of Albury and Broken Hill, and the shires of Balranald, Berrigan, Conargo, Corowa, Deniliquin, Greater Hume, Hay, Jerilderie, Lockhart, Murray, Wakool, Wentworth, Urana and Central Darling.

    Area: 247 097 sq km (approx.).

    Electors enrolled: 94 524 (at 7.9.13).

    Industries: large scale irrigation areas, dairy products, sheep, cattle, orchard and vine crops, rice and rice mills, wool, wheat and cereals, mining, tourism and agricultural service industries.

    State electorates: Farrer includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Albury, Barwon, Murray and Wagga Wagga.