Zippers: former prime ministers leaving parliament

Parliament house flag post

Zippers: former prime ministers leaving parliament

Posted 14/11/2013 by Janet Wilson

Portrait photos of Malcolm Fraser, Bob Hawke, Paul Keating and Kevin Rudd
Of Australia’s 28 Prime Ministers Kevin Rudd has become only the fourth former prime minister to have lost an election or the leadership of his party and resigned from parliament shortly afterwards, bringing about a by-election.

Malcolm Fraser was Prime Minister from the dismissal of the Whitlam Government on 11 November 1975 until the ALP’s victory at the March 1983 election. On election night Mr Fraser stood down as leader of the Liberal Party and resigned from Parliament on 31 March 1983, 26 days later. The Wannon by-election was held on 7 May 1983 and was retained by the Liberal Party by Mr David Hawker who remained in the House of Representatives until he retired in 2010.

Bob Hawke became Prime Minister at the March 1983 election, only 30 days after becoming leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party. He became Labor’s longest-serving Prime Minister until he was defeated in a Caucus ballot by Paul Keating on 19 December 1991. Despite early speculation that he would remain in Parliament, he announced his resignation on A Current Affair on 20 February, and formally resigned that day, 63 days after his defeat in the party room. The Wills by-election was held on 11 April and was won by Phil Cleary, an independent.

Paul Keating lost the March 1996 election to the Liberal Party led by John Howard. On 19 March, at the first Caucus meeting after the election he resigned as Leader of the Parliamentary Labor Party. On 23 April he resigned from Parliament, in a letter to the Governor-General, a week before the opening of the 38th Parliament and 52 days since election day. The by-election for Blaxland was held on 15 May 1996 and was retained by the ALP by Michael Hatton.

Of the other 24 prime ministers:
  • Three died in office (Lyons, Curtin, Holt) 
  • Two lost their seats (Bruce, Howard) 
  • Three left office voluntarily resulting in a by-election: Barton ̶ to take up High Court position; Fisher ‒ to become High Commissioner in London; and Menzies ‒ to retire. 
The remainder stayed on in parliament for varying periods, ranging from 17 years (Scullin and Fadden) to two months (Gillard); two former prime ministers died while still in parliament (Hughes, 28 years after ceasing to be prime minister; and Chifley).

*Authors: Janet Wilson, Rob Lundie, Deirdre McKeown

Thank you for your comment. If it does not require moderation, it will appear shortly.
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print


Flagpost is a blog on current issues of interest to members of the Australian Parliament

Parliamentary Library Logo showing Information Analysis & Advice




immigration refugees elections taxation asylum Parliament criminal law election results Australian Bureau of Statistics social security disability citizenship Indigenous Australians political parties United Kingdom UK Parliament Census statistics banking early childhood education Middle East Australian foreign policy OECD Australian Electoral Commission voting mental health Employment military history by-election election timetable China; Economic policy; Southeast Asia; Africa housing Speaker; House of Representatives; Parliament Productivity Defence income management asylum seekers High Court; Indigenous; Indigenous Australians; Native Title Senate ACT Indigenous education Norfolk Island External Territories leadership aid Papua New Guinea emissions reduction fund; climate change child care funding Electoral reform politics refugees immigration asylum Canada procurement Australian Public Service firearms Indigenous health constitution High Court e-voting internet voting nsw state elections 44th Parliament women 2015 International Women's Day public policy ABS Population Age Pension Death penalty capital punishment execution Bali nine Bali bombings Trade skilled migration Private health insurance Medicare Financial sector EU national security fuel China soft power education violence against women domestic violence Fiji India Disability Support Pension disability employment welfare reform Tasmania Antarctica China Diplomacy Australian Sports Anti-Doping Agency World Anti-Doping Agency Sport ASADA Federal Court WADA ADRV by-elections state and territories terrorism terrorist groups Bills corruption anti-corruption integrity fraud bribery transparency corporate ownership whistleblower G20 economic reform science innovation research and development transport standards Afghanistan Australian Defence Force NATO United States social media Members of Parliament Scottish referendum Middle East; national security; terrorism higher education Higher Education Loan Program HECS welfare policy pensions social services welfare ASIO Law Enforcement Australian Federal Police Australian Secret Intelligence Service intelligence community Criminal Code Amendment (Misrepresentation of Age to a Minor) Bill 2013 sexual abuse online grooming sexual assault of minors labour force workers

Show all
Show less
Back to top