Australian elections in the next four years

Parliament house flag post

Australian elections in the next four years

Posted 30/05/2012 by Rob Lundie

There are between four and seven elections at the federal, state/territory or local government level each year. From now to the end of 2015 there will be one federal election, eight state or territory elections and seven local council elections. This does not include supplementary elections, by-elections or separate legislative council elections.
By the end of 2012 there will have been three state/territory elections (Queensland in March, the Northern Territory in August and the Australian Capital Territory in October) and four sets of local council elections across the Northern Territory in March, Queensland in April, New South Wales in September and Victoria in October.

In 2013 four elections are due, including a Federal election in the latter half of the year between August and November, a Western Australian state election in March and local council elections for Western Australia and Tasmania in October.
In 2014 there will be three state elections (South Australia in March, Tasmania by the end of May and Victoria in November) along with local government elections for South Australia in November.
A further four elections are due in 2015: a New South Wales state election in March, a Queensland state election by the end of June and local government elections for Western Australia and Tasmania in October.
The table below sets out the timeline of elections in all jurisdictions for the years 2012 to 2015.
Election Date (actual or due)
Jurisdiction and Type of Election
24 March
Northern Territory (local)
Queensland (state)
28 April
Queensland (local)
25 August
Northern Territory (territory)
8 September
New South Wales (local)
20 October
Australian Capital Territory (territory)
9-26; 27 October
Victoria (local)
9 March
Western Australia (state)
Between 3 August and 30 November
Federal (House of Representatives and half-Senate)
19 October
Western Australia (local)
15-29 October
Tasmania (local)
15 March
South Australia (state)
By 24 May
Tasmania (state)
7 November
South Australia (local)
29 November
Victoria (state)
28 March
New South Wales (state)
By 20 June
Queensland (state)
17 October
Western Australia (local)
13-27 October
Tasmania (local)

A revised version of the Parliamentary Library publication Australian elections timetable outlines when the next federal, state, territory and local government elections are due. It takes account of the recent Queensland state election and provides new information on local council elections along with a timeline of elections across all jurisdictions for the next few years.

Thank you for your comment. If it does not require moderation, it will appear shortly.
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print


Flagpost is a blog on current issues of interest to members of the Australian Parliament

Parliamentary Library Logo showing Information Analysis & Advice




immigration refugees elections taxation asylum Parliament criminal law election results Australian Bureau of Statistics social security disability citizenship Indigenous Australians political parties United Kingdom UK Parliament Census statistics banking early childhood education Middle East Australian foreign policy OECD Australian Electoral Commission voting mental health Employment military history by-election election timetable China; Economic policy; Southeast Asia; Africa housing Speaker; House of Representatives; Parliament Productivity Defence income management asylum seekers High Court; Indigenous; Indigenous Australians; Native Title Senate ACT Indigenous education Norfolk Island External Territories leadership aid Papua New Guinea emissions reduction fund; climate change child care funding Electoral reform politics refugees immigration asylum Canada procurement Australian Public Service firearms Indigenous health constitution High Court e-voting internet voting nsw state elections 44th Parliament women 2015 International Women's Day public policy ABS Population Age Pension Death penalty capital punishment execution Bali nine Bali bombings Trade skilled migration Private health insurance Medicare Financial sector EU national security fuel China soft power education violence against women domestic violence Fiji India Disability Support Pension disability employment welfare reform Tasmania Antarctica China Diplomacy Australian Sports Anti-Doping Agency World Anti-Doping Agency Sport ASADA Federal Court WADA ADRV by-elections state and territories terrorism terrorist groups Bills corruption anti-corruption integrity fraud bribery transparency corporate ownership whistleblower G20 economic reform science innovation research and development transport standards Afghanistan Australian Defence Force NATO United States social media Members of Parliament Scottish referendum Middle East; national security; terrorism higher education Higher Education Loan Program HECS welfare policy pensions social services welfare ASIO Law Enforcement Australian Federal Police Australian Secret Intelligence Service intelligence community Criminal Code Amendment (Misrepresentation of Age to a Minor) Bill 2013 sexual abuse online grooming sexual assault of minors labour force workers

Show all
Show less
Back to top