# Appendix 2

# Witnesses who appeared before the Committee at the public hearings

#### Water Management in the Coorong and Lower Lakes

Tuesday, 9 September 2008, Parliament House, Canberra

Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

Mr Tony Slatyer, First Assistant Secretary, Water Reform Division

Ms Mary Harwood, First Assistant Secretary, Water Efficiency Division

Mr Mark Flanigan, Assistant Secretary, Strategic Approvals and Legislation Branch, Approvals and Wildlife Division

#### **CSIRO**

Dr Tom Hatton, Director, Water for a Healthy Country Flagship

Dr Bill Young, Theme Leader, Healthy Water Ecosystems

New South Wales Irrigators Council

Mr Andrew Gregson, Chief Executive Officer

Queensland Department of Natural Resources and Water

Mr Scott Spencer, Director-General

Mr Greg Claydon, Executive Director, Strategic Water Initiatives

Ms Debbie Best, Deputy Director, General Water and Catchment Services

Community Advisory Committee of the Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council

Mr Lee O'Brien, Chairman

National Farmers Federation Water Taskforce

Mr Laurie Arthur, Chair

Ms Deb Kerr, Natural Resource Management Manager

Dr Donald Blackmore, Private capacity

Dr William Phillips, Director MainStream Environmental Consulting Pty Ltd; RiverSmart Australia. Private capacity

Wednesday, 10 September 2008, Stamford Grand Hotel, Adelaide

Conservation Council of South Australia

Ms Julie Pettett, Chief Executive

Mr Jamnes Danenberg, Campaigner

Dr Kerri Muller, Private capacity

Professor Michael Young, Research Chair, Water Economics and Management, University of Adelaide. Private Capacity

Professor Justin Brookes, Research Scientist and Leader CLLAMM Ecology. University of Adelaide. Private capacity

Central Irrigation Trust

Mr Gavin McMahon, Operations Manager

Murray-Darling Association Inc.

Mr Raymond Najar, General Manager

Associate Professor John Williams, Associate Dean, Law School. Private Capacity

Lower Lakes and Coorong Infrastructure Committee

Mr Neil Shillabeer, Chair

Mrs Lesley Fisher, Private capacity

#### **CSIRO**

Professor Rob Fitzpatrick, Chief Research Scientist and Professor Flinders University Dr Paul Shand, Principal Research Scientist

River, Lakes and Coorong Action Group Inc.

Mr Paul Davis, Lakes and Murray Waterkeeper and Committee Member

South Australian Dairyfarmers Association

Mr David Basham, President

South Australian Farmers Federation

Mr Kent Martin, Board Member

Dr Nigel Long, Natural Resources Manager

Alexandrina Council

Mayor Kym McHugh

Coorong District Council

Mayor Roger Strother

Mr Henry Jones, Private capacity

Mannum Progress Association

Ms Helen Griffiths, Member

### Thursday, 18 September 2008, Parliament House, Canberra

Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

Mr Tony Slatyer, First Assistant Secretary, Water Reform Division

Ms Mary Harwood, First Assistant Secretary, Water Efficiency Division

Mr Harry Abrahams, Acting Assistant Secretary, Water Reform Division

Mr Mark Flanigan, Assistant Secretary, Strategic Approvals and Legislation Branch, Approvals and Wildlife Division

Inland Rivers Network

Ms Amy Hankinson, Coordinator

New South Wales Department of Water and Energy

Mr David Harriss, Deputy Director General, Water Management

## Friday, 19 September 2008, Parliament House, Canberra

Professor Richard Kingsford, Private capacity

Murray Irrigation Ltd

Mr Stewart Ellis, Chairman, Board of Directors

Mrs Claire Gibson, Communications Officer

Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists

Mr Peter Cosier, Director

Professor Bruce Thom, Member

Dr John Williams, Member

Professor Michael Young, Member

Mr Richard Harvey, Member

Mr Ian Kowalick, Private capacity

Ms Ilona Millar, Private capacity

South Australian Government

The Hon. Karlene Maywald, Minister for the River Murray and Minister for Water Security

South Australian Department of Water, Land and Biodiversity Conservation

Mr Scott Ashby, Chief Executive

Mr Andrew Beal, Chair, Water Security Technical Working Group

Coorong Council

Mayor Roger Strother

CSIRO Land and Water

Dr Ian Webster

Dr Matthew Hipsey, Research Fellow, Centre for Water Research, University of Western Australia. Private capacity

Mr David Wainwright, WBM Consulting. Private capacity

Bondi Group and National Irrigation Corporation Water Entitlements Register

Ms Jenni Mattila, Coordinator

Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

Mr Tony Slatyer, First Assistant Secretary, Water Reform Division

Ms Mary Harwood, First Assistant Secretary, Water Efficiency Division

Mr Harry Abrahams, Acting Assistant Secretary, Water Reform Division

Mr Mark Flanigan, Assessment of Wildlife Division

#### Friday, 26 September 2008, Parliament House, Canberra

Bureau of Meteorology

Mr Neil Plummer, Acting Superintendent, National Climate Centre

Dr David Jones, Supervisor, Climate Analysis Section, National Climate Centre

New South Wales Farmers Association

Ms Louise Burge, Chairman, Conservation and Resource Management Committee

Australian Conservation Foundation

Dr Arlene Buchan, Coordinator, Healthy Rivers Program

Murrumbidgee Irrigation Ltd

Mr Richard (Dick) Thompson, Chairman

Plug the Pipe

Mr Robert Richardson, Organiser

Mr Kenneth Pattison

Mr Christopher Harrison

Australian Floodplain Association

Mrs Deborah Kaluder, Committee Member

Murray-Darling Basin Commission

Dr Wendy Craik, Chief Executive

Mrs Jody Swirepik, Director, Living Murray

Mr Alan (David) Dreverman, General Manager, River Murray Water

Murray-Darling Basin Authority

Mr Robert Freeman, Acting Chair and Chief Executive

Victorian Farmers Federation

Mr Richard Anderson, Chair, Water Council

Mr Graeme Ford, Executive Manager, Policy

Snowy Hydro Ltd

Mr David Harris, Executive Officer, Regulatory Strategy, Legal and Water

Mr Andrew Nolan, Manager, Water

## The long term sustainable management of the Murray-Darling Basin Tuesday 10 March 2009, Parliament House, Canberra

Murray-Darling Basin Water Crisis Management Council

Mr Patrick Byrne, Committee member

Mr Ken Trewin, Committee member

Namoi Catchment Management Authority

Mr Bruce Brown, General Manager

Namoi Water

Mr John Clements, Executive Officer

Australian Conservation Foundation

Dr Arlene Buchan, Healthy Rivers Campaign Coordinator

Australian Floodplain Association

Mr Terence Korn, Publicity Officer

Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists

Mr Peter Cosier, Member

Dr John Williams, Member

Friday 13 March 2009, Parliament House, Canberra

National Farmers' Federation

Mrs Deborah Kerr, Natural Resource Manager

Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

Ms Mary Harwood, First Assistant Secretary, Water Efficiency Division

Mr Ian Robinson, First Assistant Secretary, Water Governance Division

Mr Tony Slatyer, First Assistant Secretary, Water Reform Division

Professor Michael Young, Executive Director, Environment Institute, University of Adelaide. Private capacity

Australian Network of Environmental Defender's Office

Ms Ruth Beach, Solicitor

Inland Rivers Network

Ms Beverley Smiles, Executive Committee

Murray-Darling Basin Authority

Mr Rob Freeman, Chief Executive

Dr Tony McLeod, General Manager, Water Planning

#### Monday 16 March 2009, Parliament House, Canberra

**CSIRO** 

Dr Tom Hatton, Director, Water for Healthy Country Flagship

Dr Bill Young, Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO Land & Water

Professor Richard Kingsford (private capacity)

Torrumbarry Reconfiguration & Asset Modernisation Strategy (TRAMS)

Mr Geoff Williams, Chair, TRAMS Working Group

Bourke Shire Council

Councillor Andrew Lewis, Mayor

Mr Geoff Wise, General Manager

Mr Trevor Randall (private capacity).