Appendix 2

Witnesses who appeared before the Committee at the Public Hearings

Thursday, 24 July 2008 Parliament House CANBERRA

National Association of Forest Industries

Mr Allan Hansard, Chief Executive Officer Mr David de Jongh, Senior Forest Policy Adviser Mr Shane Gilbert, Strategic Adviser

CSIRO

Dr Philip Polglase, Research Program Leader

Horticulture Australia Council

Mr Stuart Swaddling, Chair Ms Kris Newton, Chief Executive Officer

Greening Australia

Mr David Williams, Chief Executive Officer Ms Dianne Dibley, Director, Policy and Program Development

Treasury

Mr Matthew Flavel, Acting General Manager, Business Tax Division

Department of Climate Change

Mr Ian Carruthers, First Assistant Secretary, Adaptation and Land Management Division

Mr Paul Ryan, Director, Land Sector Policy

Baker and McKenzie

Mr Paul Curnow, Partner Mr John Walker, Partner

Carbon Conscious Ltd

Mr Peter Balsarini, Executive Director Mr Michael Shields, Non-Executive Director

CO₂ Australia

Mr Andrew Grant, Chief Executive Officer Mr James Bulinski, Manager, Carbon and Innovation Services

AusCarbon Pty Ltd

Mr Kent Broad, Director

South Australian Farmers Federation

Mr Kent Martin, Natural Resources Committee

Department of athe Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

Mr Russell James, Assistant Secretary, Water Policy Branch

Monday, 18 August 2008 Premier's Hall, Parliamentary Annexe BRISBANE

CANEGROWERS Australia

Mr Bernard Milford, Senior Manager, Policy

Tully Sugar Limited

Mr Dick Camilleri, Chairman of Directors Mr John King, General Manager

Australian Sugar Milling Council

Mr Max Craigie, Chief Executive Officer Mr Jim Crane, Senior Executive Officer

CSR

Mr John Pratt, General Manager, Grower and Community Relations

Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists

Mr Peter Cosier

Property Rights Australia

Mr John Purcell, Chairman Mr Phillip Sheridan

Thursday, 11 September 2008 Parliament House CANBERRA

Australian Soil Carbon Accreditation Scheme

Dr Christine Jones, Founder

Mr Peter Sykes, Private capacity

Pew Environment Group

Dr Barry Traill, Australian Director

Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

Mr Russell James, Assistant Secretary, Water Policy Branch Dr Charlie Zammit, Assistant Secretary Ms Carey Robinson, Director, Conservation Policy Section

National Water Commission

Mr Ken Matthews, Chair Mr Murray Radcliffe, Manager, Water Planning and Management

Department of Climate Change

Ms Josephine Mummery, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Adaptation and Land Management Division
Mr Paul Ryan, Director, Land Sector Policy