The Senate

Standing Committee on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport

Murray-Darling Basin Amendment Bill 2006 [Provisions]

February 2007

© Commonwealth of Australia

ISBN 978-0-642-71770-2

This document was prepared by the Senate Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport Legislation Committee, and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE

Members

Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan	LP, New South Wales	Chair
Senator Rachel Siewert	AG, Western Australia	Deputy Chair
Senator Jeannie Ferris	LP, South Australia	
Senator Anne McEwen	ALP, South Australia	
Senator Julian McGauran	LP, Victoria	
Senator Fiona Nash	NATS, New South Wales	
Senator Kerry O'Brien	ALP, Tasmania	
Senator Glenn Sterle	ALP, Western Australia	

Ms Jeanette Radcliffe, Secretary Ms Kyriaki Mechanicos, Research Officer Ms Rosalind McMahon, Executive Assistant

PO Box 6100 Parliament House, Canberra Telephone: (02) 6277 3511 Facsimile (02) 6277 5811

Internet:www.aph.gov.au/senateEmail:rrat.sen@aph.gov.au

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE	
ABBREVIATIONS	vii
CHAPTER 1	1
Introduction	1
Conduct of the Inquiry	1
Acknowledgements	1
Background	1
Purpose of the bill	2
Provisions of the bill	3
Schedule 1	3
Consideration by the Senate Scrutiny of Bills Committee	4
CHAPTER 2	5
Issues	5
Annual Annuity Contributions	5
Recovery of Water Business Costs	6
Responsibility for River Murray Water Structures	6
Committee Comments	6
APPENDIX 1	9
List of Submissions	9