

SELECT COMMITTEE ON MINISTERIAL DISCRETION IN MIGRATION MATTERS

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600 Telephone: 02 6277 3103 Facsimile: 02 6277 5809

Email: .minmig.sen@aph.gov.au
Website: www.aph.gov.au/senate_minmig

26 June 2003

MEDIA RELEASE

The Senate Select Committee inquiring into ministerial discretion in migration matters met for the first time in Canberra today (26 June). The Committee met in private to plan the progress of the inquiry and to adopt appropriate procedures for its implementation.

"The Committee is looking forward to starting the inquiry", said Labor Senator Joe Ludwig, the inquiry chair. "The Committee will be inviting witnesses knowledgeable in migration and legal matters to provide written submissions to the inquiry".

The inquiry's terms of reference direct the Committee to examine the Minister of Immigration's use of discretionary powers under the *Migration Act 1958*, particularly sections 351 and 417. Other matters include the appropriateness of ministerial discretionary powers within the overall migration system and whether such powers should be subject to conditions or criteria.

The Committee comprises ALP Senators Ludwig, Nick Sherry and Penny Wong, Government Senators Santo Santoro, David Johnston and Gary Humphries and Australian Democrat Senator Andrew Bartlett.

Information about the inquiry is available on the Parliament website www.aph.gov.au and from the Committee Secretariat on 02 6277 3103.

The deadline for submissions is **1 August 2003**. Submissions should be sent to the Secretary, Senate Select Committee on Ministerial Discretion in Migration Matters, Room SG.60, Parliament House, Canberra, ACT via email to minmig.sen@aph.gov.au.