

AUSTRALIAN SENATE

SELECT COMMITTEE ON MINISTERIAL DISCRETION IN MIGRATION MATTERS

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600 Telephone: 02 6277 3103 Facsimile: 02 6277 5809 Email: <u>.minmig.sen@aph.gov.au</u> Website: www.aph.gov.au/senate_minmig

19 August 2003

MEDIA RELEASE

The Senate Select Committee inquiring into ministerial discretion in migration matters met in private for the second time in Canberra today (19 August).

The Committee published 22 submissions from a range of organisations and individuals with expertise in immigration law and related matters. These include submissions from the Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs (DIMIA), the Migration Review Tribunal and Refugee Review Tribunal and the Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission. Other submissions are from interested non-government organisations and legal practitioners.

The Committee's first public hearing on 5 September 2003 in Canberra will provide an opportunity to hear from DIMIA representatives. Public hearings will also be held in Sydney on 22 and 23 September 2003, with further dates likely.

The Committee comprises ALP Senators Joe Ludwig, Nick Sherry and Penny Wong, Government Senators Santo Santoro, David Johnston and Gary Humphries and Australian Democrat Senator Andrew Bartlett. The inquiry's terms of reference direct the Committee to examine the use and appropriateness of ministerial discretionary powers under the *Migration Act 1958*.

Further information about the inquiry and copies of submissions are available on the Committee's website: www.aph.gov.au/Senate/committee/minmig_ctte/index.htm or from the Committee Secretariat on 02 6277 3103.