Senate Legal & Constitutional Legislation Committee

Inquiry into the provisions of the Anti-Terrorism (No 2) Bill 2005

PUBLIC HEARING

Commonwealth Offices Conference Room A Level 8, 70 Phillip Street SYDNEY

Monday, 14 November 2005 9:00am –4:30pm

PROGRAM

9:00am - 11:00am	Attorney-General's Department
	Mr Geoff McDonald, Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division
	Ms Kirsten Kobus, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division
	Ms Karen Bishop, Senior Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division
	Mr Geoff Gray, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law Branch
	Austrac
	Mr Neil Jensen, Director
	Mr Paul Ryan, Acting Deputy Director
	Ms Liz Atkins, Deputy Director, AML Reform
11:00am – 11:45am	Public Interest Advocacy Centre (Submission 81)
	Ms Anne Mainsbridge, Senior Solicitor
	Ms Jane Stratton, Policy Officer
11:45am – 12:30pm	Australian Lawyers for Human Rights
_	Mr Simeon Beckett, President
12:30pm – 1:30pm	Lunch Break
1:30pm – 2:15pm	Castan Centre for Human Rights Law
	Mr Ibrahim Abraham, Research Assistant

2:15pm – 3.00pm	Gilbert + Tobin Centre for Public Law (Submission 80)
	Dr Andrew Lynch, Director Terrorism and Law Project
	Dr Ben Saul, Director Bill of Rights Project
3:00pm – 3:45pm	Amnesty International Australia
	Witnesses yet to be advised
3:45pm – 4:30pm	Law Council of Australia
	Mr John North, President
	Mr Peter Webb, Secretary-General
	Ms Pradeepa Jayawardena, Policy Lawyer