The Senate

Legal and Constitutional Legislation Committee

Crimes Legislation Amendment (Telecommunications Interception and Other Measures) Bill 2005

ISBN 0 642 71536 X
Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

© Commonwealth of Australia 2005

MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Members

Senator Marise Payne, Chair, LP, NSW

Senator the Hon. Nick Bolkus, **Deputy Chair**, ALP, SA

Senator Brian Greig, AD, WA*

Senator Linda Kirk, ALP, SA

Senator Brett Mason, LP, QLD

Senator Nigel Scullion, CLP, NT

Substitute Member

Senator Ridgeway to replace Senator Greig for matters relating to the Indigenous Affairs portfolio

Participating Members

Senator the Hon. Eric Abetz, LP, TAS

Senator G. Barnett, LP, TAS

Senator A. Bartlett, AD, QLD (for DIMIA)

Senator Mark Bishop, ALP, WA Senator George Brandis, LP, QLD

Senator Bob Brown, AG, TAS

Senator Geoff Buckland, LP, QLD

Senator George Campbell, ALP, NSW

Senator Kim Carr, ALP, VIC

Senator Grant Chapman, LP, SA

Senator the Hon R Colbeck, LP, TAS

Senator Stephen Conroy, ALP, VIC Senator Alan Eggleston, LP, WA

Senator Christopher Evans, ALP, WA

Senator the Hon. John Faulkner, ALP, NSW

Senator Alan Ferguson, LP, SA

Senator Jeannie Ferris, LP, SA

Senator Brian Harradine, IND, TAS

Senator John Hogg, ALP, QLD

Senator Gary Humphries, LP, ACT

Senator Susan Knowles, LP, WA

Senator Ross Lightfoot, LP, WA

Senator Joseph Ludwig, ALP, QLD

Senator Kate Lundy, ALP, ACT Senator Sue Mackay, ALP, TAS

Senator Julian McGauran, NPA, VIC

Senator Jan McLucas, ALP, QLD

Senator Kerry Nettle, AG, NSW

Senator Robert Ray, ALP, VIC

Senator Aden Ridgeway, AD, NSW

Senator the Hon. Nick Sherry, ALP, TAS

Senator Ursula Stephens, ALP, NSW

Senator Natasha Stott Despoja, AD, SA

Senator Tsebin Tchen, LP, VIC

Senator John Watson, LP, TAS

Secretariat

Mr Owen Walsh Secretary

Ms Julie Dennett Principal Research Officer
Ms Sophie Power Principal Research Officer

Mr Mark Stevenson Estimates Officer
Ms Judith Wuest Executive Assistant

Suite S1.61 Telephone: (02) 6277 3560 Fax: (02) 6277 5794

Parliament House E-mail: legcon.sen@aph.gov.au

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS ABBREVIATIONS	m vii ix
CHAPTER 1	1
INTRODUCTION	1
Background	1
Conduct of the inquiry	1
Acknowledgement	2
Note on references	2
CHAPTER 2	3
OVERVIEW OF THE BILL	3
Significant provisions of the Bill	3
CHAPTER 3	11
KEY ISSUES	11
Definition of 'law enforcement officer' (Schedule 1)	11
Exemption for an 'emergency services facility' (Part 1 of Schedule 2)	12
Interception by radiocommunications inspectors (Part 2 of Schedule 2)	17
Ancillary offences (Part 3 of Schedule 2)	18
Civil forfeiture proceedings and named person warrants (Part 4 of Schedule 2)	20
Clarification of 'employee of a carrier' (Part 5 of Schedule 2)	21
The committee's view	22
Additional Comments and Points of Dissent by Senator Brian Greig on behalf of the Australian Democrats	27
Appendix 1 – Submissions Received	29
Appendix 2 – Proof Hansard, Canberra, 15 June 2005	31