APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

Melbourne, Friday, 22 April 2005

Office of the Victorian Privacy Commissioner

Mr Paul Chadwick, Victorian Privacy Commissioner

Law Institute of Victoria

Mr William O'Shea, Council Member, Past President Ms Joanne Kummrow, Solicitor, Administrative Law and Human Rights Section Mr Nihal Samararatna, Member

Legal Aid Queensland (by teleconference)

Ms Loretta Kreet, Solicitor, Civil Justice (Consumer Protection) Team

Australian Red Cross

Mr Robert Tickner, Secretary General (Chief Executive Officer) Mr Noel Clement, General Manager, Domestic Operations (National Programs) Mr Greg Heesom, National Manager, International Humanitarian Law

Electronic Frontiers Australia

Ms Irene Graham, Executive Director

Sydney, Thursday, 19 May 2005

Baycorp Advantage

Mr Andrew Want, Chief Executive Officer Mr Chris Gration, Consultant Ms Melissa Stratton, Group Privacy Adviser

Australian Privacy Foundation

Ms Anna Johnston, Chair

Mr David Vaile, Vice Chair

Australian Consumers' Association

Mr Charles Britton, Senior Policy Officer, IT and Communications

Australian Direct Marketing Association

Miss Jodie Sangster, Director, Legal and Regulatory Affairs

Australian Law Reform Commission

Professor David Weisbrot, President

Ms Carolyn Adams, Principal Legal Officer

Office of the Privacy Commissioner

Ms Karen Curtis, Privacy Commissioner Mr Timothy Pilgrim, Deputy Privacy Commissioner

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Philippa Lynch, First Assistant Secretary, Information Law and Human Rights Division

Ms Janine Ward, Acting Assistant Secretary, Information Law Branch

Mr Colin Minihan, Principal Legal Officer, Information Law Branch, Private Sector Privacy

Canberra, Friday, 20 May 2005

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Rod Smith, First Assistant Secretary, Public Diplomacy, Consular and Passports Division

Mr Bob Nash, Assistant Secretary, Passports Branch

Mr Adrian White, Manager, Passports Act Review Team, Passports Branch

Ms Stacey Morgan, Executive Officer, Administrative and Domestic Law Section, Legal Branch

Centre for Law and Genetics (by teleconference)

Professor Donald Chalmers, Director

Dr Dianne Nicol, Senior Research Fellow

Australian Medical Association

Ms Pamela Burton, Legal Counsel

Ms Julia Nesbitt, Director, General Practice and E-health

National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

Professor David Hill, Member, NHMRC Research Committee, and Chair, NHMRC Working Committee on Privacy

Dr David Whiteman, Council Member, and Member, NHMRC Working Committee on Privacy

Professor Colin Thomson, NHMRC Consultant in Health Ethics

Mrs Cathy Clutton, Acting Executive Director, Centre for Health Advice, Policy and Ethics

Department of Health and Ageing

Ms Mary Murnane, Deputy Secretary

Ms Margaret Lyons, First Assistant Secretary, Health Services Improvement Branch

Dr Brian Richards, National Director, e-Health Implementation Group

Mr Mike McGrath, Legal Adviser

Australian Federal Police

Mr Trevor Van Dam, Chief Operating Officer

Federal Agent Peter Drennan, National Manager, Economic and Special Operations

Mr James Watson, Manager, Legal

174