# The Senate

Legal and Constitutional Legislation Committee

Provisions of the National Security Information Legislation Amendment Bill 2005

© Commonwealth of Australia 2005
ISBN 0 642 71511 4
This document was printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra

### MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

#### **Members**

Senator Marise Payne, **Chair**, LP, NSW Senator the Hon. Nick Bolkus, **Deputy Chair**, ALP, SA Senator Brian Greig, AD, WA\* Senator Joseph Ludwig, ALP, QLD Senator Brett Mason, LP, QLD Senator Nigel Scullion, CLP, NT

#### **Substitute Member**

- \* Senator Aden Ridgeway, AD, NSW to replace Senator Brian Greig for matters relating to the Indigenous Affairs portfolio
- \* Senator Andrew Bartlett, AD QLD to replace Senator Brian Greig for the inquiry into the provisions of the Migration Litigation Reform Bill 2005.

## **Participating Members**

Senator the Hon. Eric Abetz, LP, TAS Senator John Hogg, ALP, QLD Senator G. Barnett, LP, TAS Senator Gary Humphries, LP, ACT Senator A. Bartlett, AD, QLD (for DIMIA) Senator Linda Kirk, ALP, SA Senator Mark Bishop, ALP, WA Senator Susan Knowles, LP, WA Senator George Brandis, LP, QLD Senator Ross Lightfoot, LP, WA Senator Bob Brown, AG, TAS Senator Kate Lundy, ALP, ACT Senator Geoff Buckland, LP, QLD Senator Sue Mackay, ALP, TAS Senator Julian McGauran, NPA, VIC Senator George Campbell, ALP, NSW Senator Kim Carr, ALP, VIC Senator Jan McLucas, ALP, QLD Senator Grant Chapman, LP, SA Senator Kerry Nettle, AG, NSW Senator the Hon R Colbeck, LP, TAS Senator Robert Ray, ALP, VIC Senator Stephen Conroy, ALP, VIC Senator Aden Ridgeway, AD, NSW Senator Alan Eggleston, LP, WA Senator the Hon. Nick Sherry, ALP, TAS Senator Christopher Evans, ALP, WA Senator Ursula Stephens, ALP, NSW Senator the Hon. John Faulkner, ALP, NSW Senator Natasha Stott Despoja, AD, SA Senator Alan Ferguson, LP, SA Senator Tsebin Tchen, LP, VIC Senator John Watson, LP, TAS Senator Jeannie Ferris, LP, SA Senator Brian Harradine, IND, TAS

#### **Secretariat**

Mr Owen Walsh Secretary

Ms Julie Dennett Principal Research Officer
Ms Sophie Power Principal Research Officer

Ms Marina Seminara Executive Assistant (to April 2005)
Ms Judith Wuest Executive Assistant (from May 2005)

Suite S1.61 Telephone: (02) 6277 3560 Fax: (02) 6277 5794

Parliament House E-mail: legcon.sen@aph.gov.au

# **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

Members of the Legislation Committee	iii
Abbreviations	V
CHAPTER 1	1
INTRODUCTION	1
Background	1
Overview of the Bill	1
Conduct of the inquiry	1
Acknowledgement	1
Note on references	1
CHAPTER 2	3
OVERVIEW OF THE BILL	3
Background to the Bill	3
Key provisions of the Bill	3
CHAPTER 3	7
ISSUES RAISED BY THE BILL	7
Purpose and application of the Bill	7
Power to stay proceedings	13
Restrictions on the court's discretion	16
Security clearances	26
Other issues	33
Conclusion	46
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS AND POINTS OF DISSENT BY THE AUSTRALIAN DEMOCRATS	49
APPENDIX 1	53
SUBMISSIONS RECEIVED	
APPENDIX 2	55
WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE	