APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

Canberra, Friday 26 May 2006

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

Mr Neill Wright, Regional Representative

Mr Henry Domzalski, Senior Regional Protection Officer

Liberty Victoria

Mr Brian Walters SC, President

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr Graeme Innes AM, Human Rights Commissioner and Commissioner Responsible for Disability Discrimination

Mr Jonathan Hunyor, Legal Officer

Ms Frances Simmons, Associate to President von Doussa

Castan Centre for Human Rights Law

Ms Tania Penovic

Ms Azadeh Dastyari

Refugee and Immigration Legal Centre

Mr David Manne, Coordinator and Principal Solicitor and Registered Migration Agent

Law Institute of Victoria

By Teleconference

Mr Erskine Rodan, Council Member

Mr Paul Fisher, Victoria Legal Aid, Civil Law Service

Ms Joanne Kummrow, Acting Manager, Advocacy and Practice

Dr Penelope Mathew, Faculty of Law, Australian National University

Refugee Council of Australia

Mr John Gibson, President

Victorian Bar/Public Interest Law Clearing House (Vic)

The Hon Ron Merkel QC

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Bob Correll, Deputy Secretary

Mr Peter Hughes, First Assistant Secretary, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division

Mr Robert Illingworth, Assistant Secretary Onshore Protection Branch, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division

Ms Robyn Bicket, Chief Lawyer, Legal Division

Ms Vicki Parker, A/g Assistant Secretary, Legal Framework Branch, Legal Division

Mr Dean Hulmes, A/g Director, Offshore Processing Liaison Section, Offshore Asylum Seeker Management Branch, Border Security Division

Mr Robert Hoitink, Assistant Secretary, Border Intelligence and Unauthorised Arrivals Branch, Border Security Division

Sydney, Tuesday 6 June 2006

Dr Jane McAdam, Faculty of Law, University of Sydney

A Just Australia

Ms Kate Gauthier, National Coordinator

Ms Anna Samson, Campaign Officer

Australian Lawyers for Human Rights

Mr Simeon Beckett, President

Ms Eve Lester, Victoria Convenor

Mr Kerry Murphy, Member

Associate Professor Mary Crock, Associate Dean, Post Graduate Research, Faculty of Law, University of Sydney

Uniting Justice Australia – Uniting Church in Australia

Rev Elenie Poulos, National Director (also on behalf of the National Council of Churches in Australia)

Ms Alicia Pearce, Research Officer

Migration Institute of Australia

Ms Angela Chan, Member

Ms Jill Vidler, Member

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Bob Correll, Deputy Secretary

Mr Peter Hughes, First Assistant Secretary, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division

Mr Robert Illingworth, Assistant Secretary, Onshore Protection Branch, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division

Ms Robyn Bicket, Chief Lawyer, Legal Division

Ms Vicki Parker, A/g Assistant Secretary, Legal Framework Branch, Legal Division

Mr Robert Hoitink, Assistant Secretary, Border Intelligence and Unauthorised Arrivals Branch, Border Security Division

Mr John Okely, Assistant Secretary, Offshore Asylum Seeker Management Branch, Border Security Division