APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

Adelaide, Monday 26 September 2005

Law Society of South Australia

Mr John Fountain, Chair, Accident Compensation Committee Ms Dymphna Eszenyi, President-elect Ms Kerry Clark, Member, Human Rights Committee Ms Sasha Lowes, Member, Human Rights Committee

Refugee Advocacy Service of South Australia Inc

Mr Paul Haywood-Smith QC, Chairperson Ms Thea Birss, Managing Solicitor Mr Graham Harbord, Board Member

Ms Claire O'Connor

Dr Jon Jureidini

Woomera Lawyers Group

Mr Jeremy Moore

Mr Paul Boylan

Ms Jane Moore

Melbourne, Tuesday 27 September 2005

Ms Michaela Rost

Dr Glen Nicholls

The Royal Australia and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Dr Julian Freiden, President Dr Lousie Newman, General Councillor Mr Harry Lovelock, Director of Policy

Brotherhood of St Laurence, Ecumenical Migration Centre

Ms Sarina Greco, Manager

Ms Ainslie Hannan, Coordinator

Mr Julian Burnside

National Council of Churches in Australia

Mr Alistair Gee, Director

Mr John Ball, Manager

Asylum Seeker Resource Centre

Mr Martin Clutterbuck

Ms Pasanna Mutha-Merennege, Women's Law Reform Program Manager

Law Institute of Victoria

Mr Michael Clothier, Committee Member Mr Erskine Rodan, Committee Member Ms Maria Jockel, Committee Member Mr Michael Thornton, Committee Member

Sydney, Wednesday 28 September 2005

Refugee Council of Australia

Mr David Bitel, President

Mental Health Council of Australia

Mr Sebastian Rosenberg, Deputy Chief Executive Professor Ian Hickie, Clinical Advisor to Council

Asylum Seekers Centre

Ms Tamara Domicelj, Coordinator Ms Maya Cranitch, Board Member

International Commission of Jurists

Mr Nicholas McNally, Honorary Treasurer

Edmund Rice Centre for Justice and Community Education

Sister Margaret Leavey, Volunteer Researcher

Sister Mary Britt, Volunteer Researcher

Legal Aid NSW

Ms Elizabeth Biok, Legal Officer, Civil Litigation Section

Mr Bill Gerogiannis, Legal Officer, Civil Litigation Section

Migration Institute of Australia

Mr David Mawson, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Neil Hitchcock, Fellow of Institute Founding Member, Former NSW President and Former National Executive Member

Ms Marianne Van Galen-Dickie, Member

A Just Australia

Ms Kate Gauthier, National Coordinator

Ms Naleya Everson, Researcher

Ms Trish Highfield, Advocate

Sydney, Thursday 29 September 2005

Community Relations Commission (NSW Government)

Mr Stepan Kerhyasharian, Chair

Mr Richard Acheson, Director

Ms Kamala Truelove, Research Assistant

Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia

Mr Abd Malak, Chair

Amnesty International Australia

Ms Rebecca Smith, Advocacy Coordinator

Dr Graham Thom, Refugee Coordinator

Uniting Justice Australia and Asylum Seeker Project Hotham Mission

Rev Elenie Poulos, National Director, Uniting Justice Australia

Ms Katherine Marshall, Case Coordinator and Outreach Volunteer Coordinator, Asylum Seeker Project Hotham Mission

Ms Lucy Bowring, Case Coordinator, Asylum Seeker Project Hotham Mission

Canberra, Friday 7 October 2005

Australian National Audit Office

Mr John Meert, Group Executive Director, Performance Audit Group

Mr Steven Lack, Executive Director

Mr Greg Watson, Senior Director

Ms Rebecca Collareda, A/Director, Performance Audit Services Group

Mrs Marion Le'

Ms Claire Bruhns

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

Mr Brendan Peace, Associate Legal Officer

Mr David Wrigth, Regional Representative

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr John von Doussa QC, President

Mr Craig Lenehan, Deputy Director Legal Services

Ms Vanessa Lesnie, Senior Policy Officer, Human Rights Unit

Commonwealth Ombudsman

Professor John McMillan, Ombudsman

Mr George Masri, Acting Senior Assistant Ombudsman

Canberra, Tuesday 11 October 2005

Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Abul Rizvi, Deputy Secretary

Mr Andrew Tongue, First Assistant Secretary, Change Management Taskforce

Mr Des Storer, First Assistant Secretary, Parliamentary and Legal Division

Mr Neil Mann, First Assistant Secretary, Compliance Policy and Case Coordination Division

Mr Peter Hughes, First Assistant Secretary, Refugee, Humanitarian and International Division

Ms Lyn O'Connell, First Assistant Secretary, Detention Services Division

Mr Dermot Casey, Assistant Secretary, Detention Services Division, Detention Health Taskforce Branch

Mr David Doherty, Assistant Secretary, Detention Services Division Detention Infrastructure Management Branch

Ms Yole Daniels, Assistant Secretary, Compliance Policy and Case Coordination Division, Compliance Framework Branch

Mrs Marie-Louise Smith, Assistant Secretary, Migration and Temporary Entry Division, Temporary Entry Branch

372

Mr Robert Illingworth, Assistant Secretary, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division

Mr Todd Frew, Assistant Secretary, Entry Policy and Procedures Branch, Border Security Division

Mr Garry Fleming, Assistant Secretary, Compliance Policy and Case Coordination Division, Case Management Support Branch

Mr Stephen Allen, Assistant Secretary, Border Security Division, Border Security Systems Branch

Mr John Eyers, Assistant Secretary, Parliamentary and Legal Division, Legal Services and Litigation Branch

Mr Barry Welsby, Assistant Secretary, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division, International Cooperation Branch

Ms Judith O'Neill, Assistant Secretary, Refugee, Humanitarian and International Division, Humanitarian Branch

Mr John Bloomfield, Director, Compliance Policy and Case Coordination Division Character, Cancellations and Investigations Branch

Ms Lynne Gillam, Assistant Secretary, Detention Services Division, Detention Services Framework Branch

Mr Douglas Walker, Assistant Secretary, Parliamentary and Legal Division, Legal Coordination Office Branch

Refugee Review Tribunal

Mr John Lynch, Registrar

Mr Steve Karas AO, Principal Member

Canberra, Tuesday 8 November 2005

GSL (Australia) Pty Ltd

Mr Peter Olszak, Managing Director

Mr Mike McCarthy, Commercial Director

Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Jim Williams, Assistant Secretary, Detention Contact and Services Branch

Commonwealth Ombudsman

Professor John McMillan, Ombudsman

Mr Neil Comrie, Consultant

374