# **APPENDIX 2**

## WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

### Sydney, Wednesday 31 January 2007

### Australian Lawyers for Human Rights

Mr Craig Lenehan, Member, National Executive

Mr Kerry Murphy, Member

### Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission (HREOC)

Mr Graeme Innes AM, Human Rights Commissioner and the Commissioner responsible for Disability Discrimination

Ms Vanessa Lesnie, Director, Human Rights Unit

Ms Alexandra Newton, Lawyer

### **Refugee and Immigration Legal Centre**

Mr David Manne, Coordinator

#### **Refugee Council of Australia**

Mr John Gibson, President

### Ms Michaela Byers, Private capacity

### **Migration Review Tribunal and Refugee Review Tribunal**

Mr Steve Karas, Principal Member

Mr John Lynch, Registrar

Mr Giles Short, Senior Member,

Ms Sobet Haddad, Principal Solicitor

### Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs (DIMA)

Mr John Eyers, Acting Chief Lawyer

Ms Vicki Parker, Assistant Secretary, Legal Framework Branch