The Senate

Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Classification (Publications, Films and Computer Games) Amendment (Terrorist Material) Bill 2007 [Provisions]



MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Members

Senator Guy Barnett, **Chair**, LP, TAS Senator Patricia Crossin, **Deputy Chair**, ALP, NT Senator Andrew Bartlett, AD, QLD Senator Marise Payne, LP, NSW Senator Stephen Parry, LP, TAS Senator Linda Kirk, ALP, SA Senator Joe Ludwig, ALP, QLD Senator Russell Trood, LP, QLD

Participating Member for this inquiry

Senator Natasha Stott Despoja, SA, AD

Secretariat

Ms Jackie Morris Secretary

Ms Judith Wuest Executive Assistant

Suite S1. 61 Telephone: (02) 6277 3560
Parliament House Fax: (02) 6277 5794
CANBERRA ACT 2600 Email: legcon.sen@aph.gov.au

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE			
ABBREVIATIONS	vii		
CHAPTER 1	1		
INTRODUCTION			
Background	1		
Acknowledgement	3		
Note on references	3		
CHAPTER 2	5		
OVERVIEW OF THE BILL			
CHAPTER 3	7		
KEY ISSUES			
Definition of the term 'terrorist act'	7		
Definition of 'advocates'	9		
Exemptions	13		
Committee view	15		
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS BY SENATOR NATASHA STOTT DESPOJA			
ON BEHALF OF THE AUSTRALIAN DEMOCRATS	19		
APPENDIX 1 SUBMISSIONS AND ADDITIONAL INFORMATION RECEIVED	27		
APPENDIX 2 WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE	29		